Nana's Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Quick & awesome!!!! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon LeNaour

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GLORIA LEE
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I did make this easy recipe a little more complicated! I used this as my base and based upon other reviews and other recipes, made the following changes: I used 8 small Haralson apples and 2 unripe pears (you could leave the pears out and add a couple more apples). I mixed them with 1/4 cup white sugar, 1.5 teaspoons cinnamon, 1/4 cup flour, 1 tsp each lemon and orange zest, and 2 Tablespoons each fresh squeezed lemon juice and orange juice. Poured into pan and then dotted with the 1/4 cup cold butter. I used brown sugar for the topping, added another 1.5 tsp of cinnamon, and added a cup of chopped pecans. Baked for 50 to 55 minutes..can't remember! The citrus note was nice for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This recipe was just like the one my mother made when we were young. It even stayed crispy in the refrigerator overnight. I made a lower calorie version using Splenda brown sugar blend and it tasted great. This is my new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This was exceptional! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
So good! Perfect ratio between apples and topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Next time I think I will only use 1/2 tbs of cinnamon on the top. A bit too much for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindybubs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I think it was one of my favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This recipe is AWESOME! I followed the recipe, except that I doubled the crumbly mixture, and layered about 1/3 of the mixture on the bottom and put the rest on the top. Everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Very tasty and extremely simple recipe. I did add brown sugar and cinnamon to the apples as well as dotted them with butter prior to adding the topping. Speaking of, the topping is substantial but I am a topping fiend so this works out for me. I did fail to peel the apples before I sliced them (Martha Stewart mandolin) and was concerned that the skin would wreck it all. The slices were thin enough that the skin made no noticeable difference, so next time I will skip the peeling. Also, next time I will increase the apples to 8. Outstanding recipe! Thanks for sharing KERI_B, I will be using this for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This recipe is super easy to make. My 13 year old daughter made it herself. The apple crisp turned out absolutely great. One of the best apple crisps any of us have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States