Nana's Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Just finished cooling, eating it right now. I only used 4 apples and just shy of 1 cup each on sugar, flour, and oats. Very yummy! We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Nichole

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wellington, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I am not an experienced baker and very rarely cook desserts, but I was in an Autumn mood and craving apples. I scaled to 4 servings, replaced some of the white sugar with brown, added some chopped walnuts to the apples and also added some nutmeg. Needed a shorter baking time due to the smaller size, I think I pulled it out after 40 minutes. Some of the apples that peaked through the topping became leathery from baking so next time I need to be sure they are covered. Think I'll cut back on the sugar a bit next time. This was easy and turned out very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Quick & awesome!!!! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GLORIA LEE
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I did make this easy recipe a little more complicated! I used this as my base and based upon other reviews and other recipes, made the following changes: I used 8 small Haralson apples and 2 unripe pears (you could leave the pears out and add a couple more apples). I mixed them with 1/4 cup white sugar, 1.5 teaspoons cinnamon, 1/4 cup flour, 1 tsp each lemon and orange zest, and 2 Tablespoons each fresh squeezed lemon juice and orange juice. Poured into pan and then dotted with the 1/4 cup cold butter. I used brown sugar for the topping, added another 1.5 tsp of cinnamon, and added a cup of chopped pecans. Baked for 50 to 55 minutes..can't remember! The citrus note was nice for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This recipe was just like the one my mother made when we were young. It even stayed crispy in the refrigerator overnight. I made a lower calorie version using Splenda brown sugar blend and it tasted great. This is my new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This was exceptional! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
So good! Perfect ratio between apples and topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Next time I think I will only use 1/2 tbs of cinnamon on the top. A bit too much for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindybubs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I think it was one of my favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This recipe is AWESOME! I followed the recipe, except that I doubled the crumbly mixture, and layered about 1/3 of the mixture on the bottom and put the rest on the top. Everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States