Nana's Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This is a crowd favorite... I double the amount of apples though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pequannock, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Quite good as is, not too sweet and has nice texture. I think I will add a bit of vanilla as at least one reviewer suggested next time - that sounds amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Tastes great. I love the crunchy topping. Added 1 t vanilla to apples and sprinkled them with brown sugar. Yumm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Preparing and baking this was a snap! I used 4 huge apples, which seemed sufficient. However, I think if one wanted, they could add a few more apples to the recipe and it would be just fine. I used less butter on the top, about one tablespoon dotted around. Whole oats was what I had on hand, they worked out well. Also, I replaced 1/2 cup of the one cup of white sugar with dark brown and then used 1/2 cup white sugar. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDPONYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Catawissa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I chose to try this recipe because my boyfriend likes fruit desserts (pie, cobbler, etc.) and it seemed like it would be easy to make. I didn't read any reviews prior to making this (usually I do), and I'm glad I didn't. The recipe is perfect as is, and the prep is super easy. Because the recipe suggests using tart apples, I made mine with Granny Smiths. I used my apple slicer/corer, which made the prep even easier. Baked for 50 minutes, and the apples were almost the consistency of applesauce. Served with vanilla ice cream, and it was heaven! The sweet, crumbly topping with the tartness of the apples is the perfect combination. I may try using brown sugar next time. But, I may not because it is soooo good as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This recipe was easy to make and delicious. The whole family loved it. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This recipe is fantastic!!! I tried this recipe with my sons, ages 6 and 3. It was so easy to make, and it came out great. I added 1 1/2 cups of the rolled oats, though. It was absolutely delicious. A great quick and simple recipe to do with the kids. Qiana B.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
DELICIOUS! This is so easy and tasty. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth
Home Town: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I loved how easy this was. I mixed cinnamon and sugar into the apples and I used apple blueberry granola instead of plain quick oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I made this last night for dessert and it was SO good. Reminded me of the apple crisps my Mom used to make. I did add a little fresh nutmeg into the crumble and also on top. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duncansville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States