Nana's Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Family loved this. Usted half white and half Brown sugar. Also added 1/3 cup flour, 1/3 cup sugar, a whole lime and1tsp cinnamon to apples. I don't think the additional 1/2 cup butter on top is necessary. Will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
There seems to be way to much flour in this recipe. CONS: The topping stayed like the sugary mixture I put on the top instead of baking together into a nice "crisp" mixture of sweet oatmeal. The apples had no juice at all - again, probably because of the amount of flour. PROS: The cinnamon flavor was nice and overall, if there had been a little less flour I think this would have been very nice. I may try it again and only use 1/2 cup of flour and maybe a little less sugar too (that's a personal taste thing).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
easy-peasy! 3rd time making this-yumm! This time-just for experiment, I cut down on butter -using 1/2 stick melted in the topping-the other 1/2 on the apples.looks good in oven and smells yummy! all I do for the apples is peel 6 of whatever I have on hand-this time 3 red delicious-3 granny smith,slice down to the core as close as I can get,then slice thin. I dont think this took me 15 min.,so I dont know what is so hard about that as one reviewer suggested. This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
When I saw it calls for two TBSPs of cinnamon I thought it had to be a mistake...nope, no mistake. I used steel cut quick oats and this turned out delicious! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Two simple changes to take this recipe from good to great: 1. Use 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup of white sugar. 2. Put 1 tbsp cinnamon directly onto the apples and 1 tbsp in with the oat mixture (i.e. skip the second tbsp on top of the oats). This is so easy to make and is a delicious treat. Enjoy it warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Loved it! The topping was a great base for me. I added a sprinkle of ground ginger and some nutmeg to the cinnamon. Used wheat germ instead of oats. I only used the melted butter & didn't bother with the extra butter/cinnamon on top. Really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
My family loves this. Everywhere I take it people love it. The best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This was great! I didn't have the quick cooking oats but I did have some scottish oatmeal which is coarser and I really liked the extra crunch it gave. I may try the Irish steel cut oats next time. Excellent recipe overall and a really really simple way to use up some less than fresh apples. Update: actually I forgot I used brown sugar instead of white too which I think gave it some good flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This is a crowd favorite... I double the amount of apples though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pequannock, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Quite good as is, not too sweet and has nice texture. I think I will add a bit of vanilla as at least one reviewer suggested next time - that sounds amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States