Nana's Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Very good, though somehow a bit dry for me (despite that butter). I thought the crumble part tasted really good, but I think I just like my baked apple desserts to have a bit of syrup to them, and this does not. I also agree with others - next time I will sprinkle the extra cinnamon directly on the apples rather than on the topping. But this couldn't have been easier to make, and I liked that there was no brown sugar so that I could just use Splenda instead (for the low GI diet I have to follow). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I made this recipe following the directions and the topping ended up being one stick mess that I couldn't get to spread over the apples. Did not turn out well, will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Amazing! would recommend to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cummings77

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Magna, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This is a great apple crisp! I used 1/2 cup white sugar + 1/2 cup brown sugar instead of a full cup of white sugar. I also used just one tablespoon of cinnamon since that was all I had left. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly - my husband said this was even better than his mother's apple crisp that he grew up eating. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
The best apple crisp ever! I also used half white sugar and half brown sugar. The crispy topping is fantastic. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Just came back from the orchard with fresh apples. Tried this recipe last year and it was a huge hit! Everyone loves this recipe. Thanks, Nana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This is one yummy recipe!!! Instead of 1 cup of white sugar, I used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of white sugar and it was yummy goodness. It's the perfect fall dessert. I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I have made it this way for years! Always a no fail crowd pleasure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss kelli
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Well, I make pie all the time, so thought I'd try something different. It ended up so delicious. I made 1/2 the recipe without walnuts and half with and baked in two 8x8 pans. I preferred with walnuts, but that's because I love nuts. Husband liked without. I love that half the crisp part goes on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Rehoboth, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Simple & fast. Delicious on its own and even better with some vanilla ice cream. I have done this numerous times. Following the recipe as it is – is the best. Some mistakes I have done – always use tart green apples because the sugar in the topping is just right for the tartness in the apples. Also the tartness lends a nice flavour to the topping – it is a nice contrast. If you have to use red apples, reduce the sugar in the topping. Also the apple and topping ratio is just right – too much of apples and less topping spoil the taste of the whole dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States