Nana's Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Simple, quick and delicious! I love acorn squash and my Mom always used to make it this way. I'm so glad I found this recipe. This is a fall and winter classic and what's great is it takes virtually no time at all! If you want to spice things up add a little cinnamon or nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This recipe not only takes care of the job in about 1/3 the time it takes in a conventional oven, but also frees up the oven! Wish I would have thought to cook it this way YEARS ago. I think the last time I made acorn squash in the oven WAS the last time I'll make acorn squash in the oven! Also, I used one large squash and the cooking time and amounts of brown sugar and butter were perfect. Thanks, Corinne, for sharing Nana's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
I make this recipe almost the same way except I bake in the oven at 350 degrees. My kids didn't like squash so I called this California sweet potato and they loved it. I baked in the oven at 350 degrees. I crunch up a large piece of aluminum foil, then nest the acorn squash in the aluminum foil so they don't tip over. Bake for about 1 hr. Another variation I've heard is to use maple syrup with the butter instead of the brown sugar. Anyway you make it, it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
This is a dish you can make when you decide at the last minute that you want squash. The microwave does it in half the time of a regular oven. Very easy and tasty recipe. I used a small squash so only put one tablespoon each of brown sugar and butter. The taste was perfect. Will make this again. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrisville, Vermont, USA
Living In: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
My fiance and I loved this recipe! My small squash did not take quite 15 minutes to cook in the microwave, and during broiling I added a little maple syrup and bourbon. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
You can see that fall is right around the corner here in Pennsylvania, with the abundance of squash at the local farmers market. I love acorn squash, but it takes to long to cook, the conventional way. You can't get any EASIER than this recipe. Just be careful on the cook time. If your squash are small, use the minimum amount of time, so as not to over cook. Thank you Corinne for a quick and delicious recipe. AUTUMN HARVEST KEEPER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
This was so easy and I really loved the micro/broil method to cut time. I think my squash were small (softball size) so I could have used far less butter. I ended up dumping out the excess and they were great! I also drizzled the edges of the squash halfway through broiling with the melting butter/sugar. My husband made more than one comment during dinner as to how good the squash was. Very nice lightly sweet side dish to break up a savory dinner. Great first time squash experience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Valley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I love the quick and easy process to make this squash! I used less brown sugar than stated. I will try agave nectar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
Yummy! Even my husband who doesn't like any kind of squash raved over this! He said it was the best squash dish that he'd ever had. Using the microwave made the squash soft and moist. Thanks for the wonderfully sweet and satisfying recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
This recipe is super easy, and great for a last minute addition to dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States