Nana's Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
This dish is sooo easy to prepare and good too! My family really enjoyed it and it's a "keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
This is a wonderful, quick way to make acorn squash and unlike the conventional way, I think the squash came out softer. I will definately use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
Yummy! Even my husband who doesn't like any kind of squash raved over this! He said it was the best squash dish that he'd ever had. Using the microwave made the squash soft and moist. Thanks for the wonderfully sweet and satisfying recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Awesome and simple! Made this for my teen son after school on this cold, rainy day. He loved it! This will be served in our family for years to come. Thanks to Nana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
This recipe is really fabulous considering how easy and fast it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
i also brush the squash w/some maple syrup and sprinkle w/ginger for some extra flavor. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
Have made this twice so far. Just a fast and easy way to make Fall squash. Added cinnamon during broiling time. After scooping, mashed with a potato masher - worked great. This will be the ONLY recipe I use for squash. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
I make this recipe almost the same way except I bake in the oven at 350 degrees. My kids didn't like squash so I called this California sweet potato and they loved it. I baked in the oven at 350 degrees. I crunch up a large piece of aluminum foil, then nest the acorn squash in the aluminum foil so they don't tip over. Bake for about 1 hr. Another variation I've heard is to use maple syrup with the butter instead of the brown sugar. Anyway you make it, it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
This was so easy and I really loved the micro/broil method to cut time. I think my squash were small (softball size) so I could have used far less butter. I ended up dumping out the excess and they were great! I also drizzled the edges of the squash halfway through broiling with the melting butter/sugar. My husband made more than one comment during dinner as to how good the squash was. Very nice lightly sweet side dish to break up a savory dinner. Great first time squash experience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Valley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
You can see that fall is right around the corner here in Pennsylvania, with the abundance of squash at the local farmers market. I love acorn squash, but it takes to long to cook, the conventional way. You can't get any EASIER than this recipe. Just be careful on the cook time. If your squash are small, use the minimum amount of time, so as not to over cook. Thank you Corinne for a quick and delicious recipe. AUTUMN HARVEST KEEPER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States