Nanaimo Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2015
This was WAY too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniqua

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I have used this recipe several times, and I've found that the butter in the bottom layer can be reduced to 6 tablespoons without altering the flavor at all. Makes them less greasy and less fattening. I have also used a quarter cup of butter plus a quarter cup of cream cheese in the filling. Another way to reduce calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Drago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
These are excellent. Very sweet. I didn't have cocoa powder for the bottom layer so used 1 oz. of unsweetened chocolate squares (4 squares). Worked well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rushmore, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I replaced the custard powder with actual english custard here: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/english-trifle-to-die-for/detail.aspx (step 2) and it turned out fantastic! I will use this recipe for a long time to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dann Kettle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
So easy and a family favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I have loved Nanaimo bars since visiting my MIL a few years back when she had some that she had received as a gift. They were so good, that I finally set about making my own. I followed this recipe exactly, though I did double the chocolate topping layer as it didn't seem like enough to spread around. My kids loved it and we will be giving it to our neighbors as part of a holiday cookie gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Great cookies!!! I doubled the amount of chocolate and put it in a 8x12 glass dish. They are so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Managed to successfully make nanaimo bars - my first time! I ended up needing a bit more semisweet chocolate to fully cover the batch, but they tasted great. Really enjoyed the tips in the comments about preventing the egg from curdling. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meagan Theriault

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Hands down best Nanaimo bar recipe I have tried! I find most recipes don't get the custard filling quite right, it ends up tasting too much like icing sugar. This recipe nailed it. Although heavy on butter ever bit of it is smooth and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Loved it! i was worried about the graham cracker bits, as i'd never seen them made that way, but it came out perfect! made one and a half times the middle custard part, as that's my fave, and it was awesome :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States