Nanaimo Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I skipped the nuts due to an allergy in the family, but otherwise made the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I am practicing to makes these for Christmas. My middle layer is completely blah. Should I expect it to be creamy? I thought it might be stiff since these are cut to individual bars. The taste is good, but the texture of peanut butter is a little strange. I had a nanaimo bar many years ago. I don't think the center should mush a little. I'm going to try again! The taste is very good. If you have any tips tweet me @ yagwit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
It was a huge hit with family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I made these at work and my boss who is a French chef liked them. He even requested it for another function - THAT says a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungry

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This recipe has been in my family for over 30 years, and I can say it's as faithful to the original as it can be. Thanks for posting the recipe here! I was looking for a reference to the one I have and thankfully I found this one. Nanaimo bars are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I used unsweetened coconut, chopped pecans in place of the almonds and cut the sugar down a bit in the middle layer. Doubled the middle and top layer as others suggested. Beat the egg into little spoonfuls of the middle layer to avoid the curdling issue others referred to. Not the best bar ever but definitely good enough to make again! We weren't sure what to expect with these so maybe they will grow on us more and more. Can't imaginer these without doubling middle and top layer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Bars turned out delicious! For the crust I used graham cracker crumbs and baby (arrow root) cookies, crushed in the food processor, as well as almonds! I found the crust to be nice and think but I think I needed a little more butter. For the filling, I used the custard powder which is key. I did not have any whole milk, only skim, so I used 3 tbs of Carolans Irish Cream which was a nice addition! I used an 8x8 glass pan and found I needed two more ounces or chocolate to make a full chocolate topping! Will definitely keep this recipe to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was great! The filling was quite soft though, so I would consider using another 1-2 cups of icing sugar in the filling to make it a bit more firm. I also suggest doubling the topping as other users have suggested. My reviews were all fantastic still
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Not as impressed as I usually am finding recipes on this site - I have made nanaimo bars for years with great success. I was recently away from home without my "tried and true" recipe so I went to the internet and came away with an amazing recipe. Today, when wanting to replicate that I came to this site because I have had so much success - but it was not the right recipe (which I realized early on, but it was too late to change). The bottom is falling apart horribly, perhaps it needs more butter. They are tasty - but the bottom part is definitely dry and they will be very difficult to put on a platter for Christmas Eve. My kids will gobble them up (with a spoon), but on my way back to bake another batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
These are excellent! My first batch wasn't great, but I learned a few things and then doubled the recipe for a 9x13 pan to take to a cookie exchange. I found it was easier to thicken the chocolate/egg mixture after removing from the heat. I whipped the custard layer well until it was light and fluffy. I wanted a slightly thicker top layer so I added some more chocolate and butter. Then I put it in the fridge for about 15 minutes to let it set, and then I scored the chocolate. I like it best when the bars are cold, so I store it in the fridge. These are really rich, so I actually cut the 8x8 recipe into 32 pieces, and the 9x13 into 48 pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States