Nanaimo Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
This was really great! My family ate the whole pan in one day. A really good naniamo bar recipe like this is hard to find...and I'm from B.C. Thanks, this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Very Delicious! One of my favourite treats...I'm from nanaimo and these were awesome! I used milk and pudding powder as suggested, and would recommend adding a little less butter to the first 2 layers (or at least the middle layer), closer to 2/3C, because it did turn out a little greasy. but otherwise, WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2001
5 stars and more! I just came back from Vancouver, Canada and had them for the first time at a 5 star hotel. One bite and I just had to have the recipe. Thanks for sharing it. These were identical to the ones I had... (I used the instant vanilla pudding mix).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Excellent Recipe!! Living in Canada I've been making Nanaimo bars every Christmas for as long as I can remember! The recipe I usually use is a little different than this one but what a difference a few changes can make. The filling is nice and firm, the crust moist and the topping not too hard! It cuts into squares excellent (I line my pan with parchment paper so it's easier to get out of the pan and cut.) The top doesn't crack when you're cutting it and the filling doesn't squish out the sides and the bottom stays together nicely. This is my new Nanaimo bar recipe that I'll be using from now on!! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
My husbands exact words were 'these are the best Naniamo bars I have ever had', and I agree. They are not sicky-sweet like most I have had, but just right. I grew up with Naniamo bars, and I have to say, these are better than my moms... sorry mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
This recipie is awesome! weve been making these nanaimo bars for as long as i can remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
a huge hit. I have been begged to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
I have made this recipie several times. Completely worth the effort. As a native NW girl and a daughter of a Canuck, I crave these bars and savor each bite! I've always made them with instant vanilla pudding with great results. When you bring them to a party, save yourself the time and bring copies of recipies with you. You'll be asked for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAPOLIMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
I cannot tell you how great this recipe is! I made these for a bridal shower with several other desserts, and this was truly the hit of the party! Recipe is perfect just like it is (well, ok, I added an extra square of chocolate on top!). I'm from the Northwest, and these are just like they're supposed to be. Not too thin, plenty of ingredients in the layers. Taste is superb! Now, if people only knew about these unique bars, maybe they could find this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I don't usually like nanaimo bars, but these were really good! They aren't as sickeningly sweet as most. I made them for a Christmas party, and everyone enjoyed them. The only change I made was to add ground almmonds to the base as that's all the grocery store had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States