Nanaimo Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I shop at a grocery store called Haggen, and they have the best bakery I've ever been to in a grocery store. They make these DELICIOUS Nanaimo bars, and I tried this recipe in an attempt to recreate them, so I won't have to keep buying them. Well, this was soooo far away from Haggen's version. The bottom layer seems close enough, but the middle layer seemed too powdered-sugary, and the top layer was all wrong. I think Haggen uses milk chocolate, and their's is really melt-in-your-mouth. Maybe they add some Crisco to their chocolate when they're melting it. I think this recipe has potential, but I must be spoiled by Haggen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackieck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Fantastic but I found there was a bit too much coconut. I used half and the results were perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Definitely make half of the bottom layer. I also used the instant vanilla pudding and regular milk instead of the heavy cream. They turned out wonderful - just like the ones I had on Salt Spring Island!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aubriek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I've been making this for years, I lived in Nanaimo I use this exact recipe but use unsalted or European style butter, makes it a much tasting bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Tried this recipe instead of my usual for a Cookie Exchange and it's great. Everyone wanted the recipe & I consider that the ultimate compliment. Thanks, so much, for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Monclova, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
The best I've made yet! The other recipe I used, barely yielded enough chocolate for the top, and was sickly sweet...this is amazing and I've had to make it twice this holiday season because my family ate them all! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa McBride Roberts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I saw someone selling these on another site and had never heard of them before so I has to investigate. I'm sure glad I did! This was a fantastic recipe and very easy to make, the husband loves them and I can't wait to take them to work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
NEVER microwave your chocolate - it makes it crack during cutting! I prefer to double the icing and double the chocolate topping. I garnished my bars with fresh cranberries to add a pop of edible colour - place one whole berry in the centre before placing the pan in the fridge and it will set nicely. Also, I usually end up cracking the chocolate when I cut into squares anyway, so I use muffin tins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I made these for work and received huge compliments on them; I doubled the chocolate topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Gordon
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I got lots of compliments on this one! Thanks for sharing the recipe. I'll put less butter in the top layer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gordon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States