Nanaimo Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
These are amazing! I think next time I would double the top layer and maybe the middle layer, although taste wise it doesn't need it. Used coconut sugar instead of granulated, unsweetened coconut, and used coconut cream flavored pudding mix instead of custard powder. I think the sweetness was perfect. Reduced butter in the middle layer by about one or two tablespoons but that layer didn't harden as much as I expected it (not sure if it is supposed to). It's hard to stop eating these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
These are very good, but I prefer the traditional walnuts instead of almonds. Even better, but a bit more costly, I use pecans in the bottom layer. Also, ensure you use custard powder and not vanilla pudding, which is far too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This is one of the BEST desserts I have ever made. I had 20 of my husband's co-workers over for tea today, and every single one of them asked me for the recipe. I had catered goodies from a local bakery, yet nearly everyone bypassed those treats for this homemade one. We recently returned from Vancouver where I tried these bars for the first time and fell in love. They are delicious. FIRST TIP: Use "digestive cookies" instead of "graham crackers" to make your crumbs. Graham crackers are sweet, whereas digestives are a little saltier and crunchier -- yum yum! SECOND TIP: Use custard powder (you can find Bird's Eye Custard Powder at Cost Plus and in the British Foods aisle of many specialty grocery stores). Instant vanilla pudding mix is too sweet! Custard powder is just corn starch with some flavoring and coloring and salt, but it gives you the perfect texture, taste, and look. Don't use anything else. THIRD TIP: Be sure to use almonds which you have ground up in the food processor (where I also grind up the digestives). FOURTH TIP: You'll probably want to double the recipe because these go fast. FIFTH TIP: Be sure to read "the most helpful reviews" for how to avoid curdling/scrambling the eggs when you add them to the hot chocolate mixture. The tips worked like a charm for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Right on!, Rachel
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I followed the recipe exact, except for the middle part I only used 2/3 C. of butter as one reviewer said it was a bit greasy and tasted 'too buttery', so I followed that one suggestion... other than that ....classic! tastes like the real thing from a Starbucks in Vancouver (or Nanaimo, for that matter).. for those that don't know, Nanaimo bars are *very* sweet... most cuts/slices are no bigger than the size of a Triscuit cracker, maybe less...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Right on!, Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Great recipe! I get asked to make these all the time. Easy for my high schooler to make them too. We love them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mistythayer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sitka, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
These were great! I think I'll add a bit more sugar to the middle layer next time, it tasted a bit too much like butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahJean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Hubby says they are TOOO good! That's good! Guess we'll make them lots. After reading reviews and making I have some recommendations. I did not have an issue with the eggs curdling, maybe because my double boiled mixture was not overly hot. Perhaps the coconut could be reduced to 3/4 C next time. But my non-coconut friends even liked these. We do not have custard powder around SO...I did some research and I was pleased with how they turned out. DO NOT USE VANILLA pudding. Custard powder is NOT pudding. Simply substitute 2 TBSP of cornstarch and vanilla. I had vanilla powder, so I used a tsp of that. I also only used one cup of p. sugar. It was the right sweetness but I wish there was a little more of that layer, so next time I might try two cups of p. sugar, if that is too sweet, than I will add another stick of butter to increase volume. Used semi-sweet chips for topping. Turned out beautifully! Can't wait to make these when it's too hot this summer to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarona, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Been making these for over 40 years!! My mother-in-law (Scandanavian descent) had been making them all her life. She gave me her recipe. However, we call them Chocolate Butter Creams. Whoever said these came from Canada 30 years ago, as I've seen in other websites, is sorely mistaken. Regardless, they are YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I first had these bars while on a Ferry headed to Vancouver Island....these are the BEST bars. My kids just love them, and they never last very long in my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I shop at a grocery store called Haggen, and they have the best bakery I've ever been to in a grocery store. They make these DELICIOUS Nanaimo bars, and I tried this recipe in an attempt to recreate them, so I won't have to keep buying them. Well, this was soooo far away from Haggen's version. The bottom layer seems close enough, but the middle layer seemed too powdered-sugary, and the top layer was all wrong. I think Haggen uses milk chocolate, and their's is really melt-in-your-mouth. Maybe they add some Crisco to their chocolate when they're melting it. I think this recipe has potential, but I must be spoiled by Haggen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackieck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States