Nanaimo Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Tried this recipe instead of my usual for a Cookie Exchange and it's great. Everyone wanted the recipe & I consider that the ultimate compliment. Thanks, so much, for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Monclova, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
The best I've made yet! The other recipe I used, barely yielded enough chocolate for the top, and was sickly sweet...this is amazing and I've had to make it twice this holiday season because my family ate them all! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa McBride Roberts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I saw someone selling these on another site and had never heard of them before so I has to investigate. I'm sure glad I did! This was a fantastic recipe and very easy to make, the husband loves them and I can't wait to take them to work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
My advice for this recipe is to double the icing and double the chocolate topping. I garnished my bars with fresh cranberries to add some nice colour. Also, I usually end up cracking the chocolate when I cut into squares so this time I used muffin tins and it worked great! I will use this method from now on, it was so easy to get them out and they were circular shaped which was a nice change from the traditional. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I made these for work and received huge compliments on them; I doubled the chocolate topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Gordon
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I got lots of compliments on this one! Thanks for sharing the recipe. I'll put less butter in the top layer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gordon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Wow, very sweet and I have a huge sweet tooth! I cut out one cup of confectioners sugar too! However, they are unusually addicting! I would say cut them very small...I got 25 out of my 8x8 pan. I also couldn't find custard powder so had to resort to instant pudding. I am not sure if that affected the sweetness (since I don't know how sweet custard powder is). Either way, if I find custard powder, I'll definitely try these again. They were a great project for my 9 yr old son and I as we ended our study of Canada!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
These were amazing!! I thought they would be difficult to make but the opposite was true. They were really easy and they are great!! Yay!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily McCann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Simply divine! I live in south Texas, so when I shared these with some Canadian hockey players down here, they were amazed by how good they were! Delicious and VERY sweet, but sooo decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gshepherd
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
These were a special treat and unusual in their own way. The reviews about whisking the chocolate into the egg slowly before adding it back to the heated chocolate were very helpful. I used a sauce pan on low-simmer for the first layer rather than a double-boiler...1/2 cup butter in first layer to mix graham cracker crumbs and 1/3 cup butter in the second layer to cream the confectioner's sugar and doubled the ingredients in the third layer. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gshepherd

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 61-70 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States