Nanaimo Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
My advice for this recipe is to double the icing and double the chocolate topping. I garnished my bars with fresh cranberries to add some nice colour. Also, I usually end up cracking the chocolate when I cut into squares so this time I used muffin tins and it worked great! I will use this method from now on, it was so easy to get them out and they were circular shaped which was a nice change from the traditional. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I made these for work and received huge compliments on them; I doubled the chocolate topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Gordon
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I got lots of compliments on this one! Thanks for sharing the recipe. I'll put less butter in the top layer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gordon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Wow, very sweet and I have a huge sweet tooth! I cut out one cup of confectioners sugar too! However, they are unusually addicting! I would say cut them very small...I got 25 out of my 8x8 pan. I also couldn't find custard powder so had to resort to instant pudding. I am not sure if that affected the sweetness (since I don't know how sweet custard powder is). Either way, if I find custard powder, I'll definitely try these again. They were a great project for my 9 yr old son and I as we ended our study of Canada!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
These were amazing!! I thought they would be difficult to make but the opposite was true. They were really easy and they are great!! Yay!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Simply divine! I live in south Texas, so when I shared these with some Canadian hockey players down here, they were amazed by how good they were! Delicious and VERY sweet, but sooo decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gshepherd
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
These were a special treat and unusual in their own way. The reviews about whisking the chocolate into the egg slowly before adding it back to the heated chocolate were very helpful. I used a sauce pan on low-simmer for the first layer rather than a double-boiler...1/2 cup butter in first layer to mix graham cracker crumbs and 1/3 cup butter in the second layer to cream the confectioner's sugar and doubled the ingredients in the third layer. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gshepherd

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Fantastic! Loved these bars. We couldn't stop munching on them. They come out so pretty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germfask, Michigan, USA
Living In: Barbeau, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Very good! Used only 1/3 cup of butter though in both places where 1/2 cup is called for. Definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Yuuumm! I keep seeing recipes for these popping up on blogs, but being from Texas I'd never tried them before. I added a whole brick of cream cheese to the middle layer, though, which helped cut the sweetness a little, I think. I also used the pudding mix (a whole four-serving box) and instead of whipping cream I used coconut flavored coffeemate. And I added a little almond extract too! DEEEE-licious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Peanut Butter Bars I

If you love chocolate and peanut butter together, these are the bars for you.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States