Nanaimo Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
As far as I am concerned these are the real Canadian Nanaimo Bars! At Christmas I usually have to make a triple batch! Its just not the same without the Harry Hornes Custard Powder!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I'm in the process of making these now and I'm wondering if the middle layer is supposed to have a buttercream icing consistency? I've never made nanaimo bars before but it seems a little thick? I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Astrobotosaurus
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Very tasty Nanaimo bars. I recommend using a little less coconut and making a little more custard and chocolate topping than the recipe suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Astrobotosaurus

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
So these should come with a warning...Danger of Eating Entire Pan and Gaining 5 Pounds. I have reviewed close to 175 recipes on this site over the last 10 years and this is my favourite recipe ever!!! Unfortunately I make it far too often and it is my demise! Awesome, decadent, heavenly...there are not enough words to describe. I have an addiction to these :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BrinaZ
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Overall, the final product was very good, but I have a few recommendations... 1. Use a 7" x 11" cake pan, which will make the bars slightly thinner. 2. Use less cocoa powder in the bottom layer, 3-4 tablespoons at most. I followed the recipe, using 5 tbs, and I thought it drowned out the coconut flavor. 3. Grind up the nuts and coconut into very small pieces - in a food processor - for the bottom layer. This will help you press the bottom layer into a nice flat layer, so the next two layers also spread easily. 4. Add 2 tablespoons of milk or cream to the chocolate in the top layer, to make it a little easier to spread and cut once it's refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Grew up with Nanaimo Bars, usually a Christmas treat. Thanks for the recipe, I live in New England now and I'm able to make these for Christmas for my kids! The lady who rated 3 stars and added cranberries obviously hasn't made the recipe as it. Its perfect, don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Unionjack

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sandy Hook, Connecticut, USA
Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I thought these were pretty good, although a bit on the sweet side for my taste. I halved the crust/bottom part, like others suggested, and would not do that again. I would def temper the egg with some of the batter before adding it to the hot mix. I also sub. vanilla pudding for the custard powder and it was pretty good; I did only use 3 T of butter instead of the whole stick. Make sure and use BUTTER or OIL when you melt the chips, not margarine, as it will seize the chocolate. If you score the bar after it has slightly hardened, it makes them much easier to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Very yummy - my filling was a little runny though - I'm in Australia though, so my ingredients were similar, but not identical. I'll try the parchment paper next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
These are amazing! I think next time I would double the top layer and maybe the middle layer, although taste wise it doesn't need it. Used coconut sugar instead of granulated, unsweetened coconut, and used coconut cream flavored pudding mix instead of custard powder. I think the sweetness was perfect. Reduced butter in the middle layer by about one or two tablespoons but that layer didn't harden as much as I expected it (not sure if it is supposed to). It's hard to stop eating these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
These are very good, but I prefer the traditional walnuts instead of almonds. Even better, but a bit more costly, I use pecans in the bottom layer. Also, ensure you use custard powder and not vanilla pudding, which is far too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States