Nanaimo Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I loved it! a few changes. i didnt add butter to the chocolate for the top layer, i just melted double the suggested amount of milk chocolate chips. then scored into squares to make cutting easier. worked perfectly. i used the custard powder for the middle layer, not vanilla pudding. I live in Washington and i found it a cost plus world market. you cant find the custard powder in regular us grocery stores. so try a world market if there is one near you. i would like to make the bottom layer have a little bit of a crunch. im wondering if baking it, just like a graham cracker crust would help? it seemed too moist/chewy for me. and i think ill use walnuts instead of almonds next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Bailey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I'm 12 years old and I made this recipe with ease! I didn't have a double boiler so I just stirred the ingredients and kept putting it in the microwave for 5 seconds then stirred it and repeated. It turned out sooooo tasty! I would put 1/3 cup less sugar in the filling and add it to the bottom layer. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
AMAZING!!! Taste exactly like my mother in law's recipe from Canada! I used a cheap vanilla pudding mix powder with excellent results myself. Highly recommended!! :) thanks so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
The very best! I used the vanilla pudding and it turned out great! I think next time I will leave out the almonds, and try a peanut butter layer between the vanilla and chocolate topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Rich - but just not like the ones I had before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Fields
Home Town: Lagrange, Ohio, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Excellent! Very rich. I doubled the recipe and made in a 8 x 13 pan. I also followed the suggestion of one of the reviewers and used the digestive wafers instead of the graham crackers. I'm from Texas, so this was an unfamiliar dessert to me, but I know I'll be making it again. The family loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Easy to make and everyone liked this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
these were delicious, my mom had been wanting nanaimo bars fora while, I found this recipe and tried it, there were gone within a day of making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
These were fantastic! I think I'd call them a candy rather than a cookie. I left out the coconut in the base. I also had to blot excess butter from the top of the base before I added the butter cream. Next time I will use only 6 tbsp of butter in the base. The buttercream was delicious. I intend to use it as a filling for my next chocolate cake. I used instant vanilla pudding mix and added 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract. I used a 70% chocolate Lindt bar in the ganache topping. The bitter chocolate helped to keep the Nanaimo bar from tasting too sweet. I will definately be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Yummy! Found it hard to spread even layer chocolate on top however. I did follow reviews and use 1/3 c butter not 1/2c in middle custard layer. I like the thicker bottom layer and thinner custard layer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States