Nanaimo Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Excellent! Very rich. I doubled the recipe and made in a 8 x 13 pan. I also followed the suggestion of one of the reviewers and used the digestive wafers instead of the graham crackers. I'm from Texas, so this was an unfamiliar dessert to me, but I know I'll be making it again. The family loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Easy to make and everyone liked this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
these were delicious, my mom had been wanting nanaimo bars fora while, I found this recipe and tried it, there were gone within a day of making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
These were fantastic! I think I'd call them a candy rather than a cookie. I left out the coconut in the base. I also had to blot excess butter from the top of the base before I added the butter cream. Next time I will use only 6 tbsp of butter in the base. The buttercream was delicious. I intend to use it as a filling for my next chocolate cake. I used instant vanilla pudding mix and added 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract. I used a 70% chocolate Lindt bar in the ganache topping. The bitter chocolate helped to keep the Nanaimo bar from tasting too sweet. I will definately be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Yummy! Found it hard to spread even layer chocolate on top however. I did follow reviews and use 1/3 c butter not 1/2c in middle custard layer. I like the thicker bottom layer and thinner custard layer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Easy to make and their awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Rave reviews from my test subjects! The only changes I made was to put it in a 7x11 pan, used slightly less butter in the custard layer. But must say Bird's Custard powder is a must for it to be authentic. Thanks for posting a real winner Martha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I can see how these would be a 4-star treat if they held sentimental value for somebody who grew up eating them. As somebody who had never heard of a nanaimo bar, I just saw the great reviews and thought they looked good. They were kind of a let-down, I must say. With all the different flavors nothing really stood out...I could barely taste the chocolate in the crust even though I am picky and buy a very expensive and high-quality cocoa powder. The crust is somewhat dry and slightly resembles american "no bake" cookies. the topping is akin to american buttercream topped with ganache. Can't go wrong with ganache, but I wish I had just made brownies instead! The best part about them was they looked pretty- I piped the chocolate on top in zig-zags and cut them with a warm hot knife and they looked much better than they tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Totally fantastic! I've made these three years in a row and I'm a greeted like a hero when I take them to parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Soooo good. I doubled the recipe and put into a 9x13 pan. I used custard powder but next time I think I might just use vanilla pudding mix. I lined the pan with parchment so I could take it out a little easier. Cuts really well and absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingaddict

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States