Nanaimo Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Double the chocolate and they are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courteepoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Absolutely fantastic!! As a Canadian living overseas for some time now I was so ecstatic to find this recipe. This recipe really brought me home and was a huge hit with everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by speck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
My kids said this was okay. I will not make it again. I had some difficulties with the recipe. 1-First of all, the crust was not good. While making the crust the eggs curdled, even though I followed another reviewer's advice of adding a little of the chocolate mixture to the beaten eggs before adding it to the whole pot. Still didn't work. As a result the crust did not hold very well. It was very crumbly. 2- The creamy middle was basically the consistency of a thick frosting. It was way too sweet. I didn't understand the point of using custard powder as it was not 'custardy' at all. Also spreading the creamy filling was difficult. It was very thick and kept picking up crumbs from the crust. The only reason I am giving this 3 stars is because the kids still liked the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
These are the best Nanaimo Bars my family has ever tasted and we love our Nanaimo Bars! Will be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I am from BC and I know how delicious Nanaimo Bars are! In our family we DOUBLE the centre filling and use walnuts instead of almonds in the base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I made this for my sister's sweet 16 party, for a girl who's obsessed with nanaimo bars. She liked them, but they tasted a little different. The bottom layer was almost overpowering to the top 2, which were both delicously creamy. It seemed like there were too many graham crackers, and it overtook the creaminess of the over-all nanaimo bar taste my sister loves. I'd reccommend reducing the overall amount of the bottom layer and spreading it thinner, as well as using fewer graham cracker crumbs so that flavor isn't so obvious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan White

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Was not impressed with this one.The filling and crust were not thick enough.The chocolate layer top was way to thin,when i cut it,the top just fell apart..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I am a really big fan of Nanaimo Bars as I remember my mom making them when I was young and I have tried to make them a few times without success (and trust me, the bought ones are NOT the same)! I made this recipe exactly as written with only one change and that being the chocolate top which I used 1 cup of chocolate chips instead of semisweet and melted them in the microwave with butter as the recipe states. They turned out fabulous! NOTE: Let the bars cool and the chocolate set at 'room temperature' then cut into squares and refrigerate or freeze. If you refrigerate them first, the chocolate will all crack apart when you cut them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEWELJETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I've made this recipe 3 times now, it's been a hit every time. It was a little difficult to find Birds custard powder here in Texas but I finally found it at World Market. Great recipe, Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Love this recipe. I was out of graham cracker crumbs so I used Oreo. Made them a bit richer. These are super sweet and rich. Cut the pieces small. But they are SO GOOD! A labour of love to be sure - they're a pain in the butt to do properly but very worth it if you love your husband as much as I do. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tante Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States