Nanaimo Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Not as impressed as I usually am finding recipes on this site - I have made nanaimo bars for years with great success. I was recently away from home without my "tried and true" recipe so I went to the internet and came away with an amazing recipe. Today, when wanting to replicate that I came to this site because I have had so much success - but it was not the right recipe (which I realized early on, but it was too late to change). The bottom is falling apart horribly, perhaps it needs more butter. They are tasty - but the bottom part is definitely dry and they will be very difficult to put on a platter for Christmas Eve. My kids will gobble them up (with a spoon), but on my way back to bake another batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
These are excellent! My first batch wasn't great, but I learned a few things and then doubled the recipe for a 9x13 pan to take to a cookie exchange. I found it was easier to thicken the chocolate/egg mixture after removing from the heat. I whipped the custard layer well until it was light and fluffy. I wanted a slightly thicker top layer so I added some more chocolate and butter. Then I put it in the fridge for about 15 minutes to let it set, and then I scored the chocolate. I like it best when the bars are cold, so I store it in the fridge. These are really rich, so I actually cut the 8x8 recipe into 32 pieces, and the 9x13 into 48 pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Wonderful flavor and very easy to make, despite the three layers. I recommend refrigerating the first layer while you prepare the middle layer. It makes spreading the custard mixture much easier. These did not last long in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Delicious and easy to make. I will definitely come back to this recipe next time I want to make Nanaimo bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Pretty good. In the Betty Crocker cookie book they are called Fudge Meltaways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking diva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: Hinesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I used to live in the Pacific Northwest, I didn't even know what they were called. Forgot all about these until I saw the recipe here. Very good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Best nanaimo bars ever! Double the icing and the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Double the chocolate and they are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courteepoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Absolutely fantastic!! As a Canadian living overseas for some time now I was so ecstatic to find this recipe. This recipe really brought me home and was a huge hit with everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by speck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
My kids said this was okay. I will not make it again. I had some difficulties with the recipe. 1-First of all, the crust was not good. While making the crust the eggs curdled, even though I followed another reviewer's advice of adding a little of the chocolate mixture to the beaten eggs before adding it to the whole pot. Still didn't work. As a result the crust did not hold very well. It was very crumbly. 2- The creamy middle was basically the consistency of a thick frosting. It was way too sweet. I didn't understand the point of using custard powder as it was not 'custardy' at all. Also spreading the creamy filling was difficult. It was very thick and kept picking up crumbs from the crust. The only reason I am giving this 3 stars is because the kids still liked the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States