Nanaimo Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Was not impressed with this one.The filling and crust were not thick enough.The chocolate layer top was way to thin,when i cut it,the top just fell apart..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I am a really big fan of Nanaimo Bars as I remember my mom making them when I was young and I have tried to make them a few times without success (and trust me, the bought ones are NOT the same)! I made this recipe exactly as written with only one change and that being the chocolate top which I used 1 cup of chocolate chips instead of semisweet and melted them in the microwave with butter as the recipe states. They turned out fabulous! NOTE: Let the bars cool and the chocolate set at 'room temperature' then cut into squares and refrigerate or freeze. If you refrigerate them first, the chocolate will all crack apart when you cut them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEWELJETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I've made this recipe 3 times now, it's been a hit every time. It was a little difficult to find Birds custard powder here in Texas but I finally found it at World Market. Great recipe, Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Love this recipe. I was out of graham cracker crumbs so I used Oreo. Made them a bit richer. These are super sweet and rich. Cut the pieces small. But they are SO GOOD! A labour of love to be sure - they're a pain in the butt to do properly but very worth it if you love your husband as much as I do. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tante Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I loved it! a few changes. i didnt add butter to the chocolate for the top layer, i just melted double the suggested amount of milk chocolate chips. then scored into squares to make cutting easier. worked perfectly. i used the custard powder for the middle layer, not vanilla pudding. I live in Washington and i found it a cost plus world market. you cant find the custard powder in regular us grocery stores. so try a world market if there is one near you. i would like to make the bottom layer have a little bit of a crunch. im wondering if baking it, just like a graham cracker crust would help? it seemed too moist/chewy for me. and i think ill use walnuts instead of almonds next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Bailey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I'm 12 years old and I made this recipe with ease! I didn't have a double boiler so I just stirred the ingredients and kept putting it in the microwave for 5 seconds then stirred it and repeated. It turned out sooooo tasty! I would put 1/3 cup less sugar in the filling and add it to the bottom layer. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
AMAZING!!! Taste exactly like my mother in law's recipe from Canada! I used a cheap vanilla pudding mix powder with excellent results myself. Highly recommended!! :) thanks so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
The very best! I used the vanilla pudding and it turned out great! I think next time I will leave out the almonds, and try a peanut butter layer between the vanilla and chocolate topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Rich - but just not like the ones I had before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraelise
Home Town: Lagrange, Ohio, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Excellent! Very rich. I doubled the recipe and made in a 8 x 13 pan. I also followed the suggestion of one of the reviewers and used the digestive wafers instead of the graham crackers. I'm from Texas, so this was an unfamiliar dessert to me, but I know I'll be making it again. The family loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States