Nanaimo Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Delicious and so easy to make, first time making these, and new to "baking" so this was very easy to me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I love Nanaimo Bars and thought this was going to be one good one, but it was not. I would not recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle1979

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I love this recipe and it makes perfect Nanaimo Bars. The only thing I don't add is the walnuts, cause I don't like them, they don't need them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynden, Washington, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This is a tremendous treat. They please any crowd. The first time I made them my aunt, who's a caterer asked for the recipe. She made them for her next event and they were the most praised dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
excellent. i used this recipe to satisfy my craving for nanaimo bars while i was living in England, and they turned out to be the best i've had. needless to say, the english were very depressed that they don't have such a thing in their country!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This recipie blows it up !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie munster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I remember these from my days as a child growing up in Cananda (Toronto) and now that I am on the east coast no one has heard of them, but everyone sure loved them when I made them. The one with the peanut butter filling is really good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
I followed a previous reviewer's advice of using graham wafer crumbs instead of coconut (my husband is allergic too). I used margarine instead of butter, 1 cup of graham wafer crumbs, and corn syrup instead of the egg. For the filling, I used more like a tablespoon of vanilla. TASTE the filling before spreading it over the base!! If it tastes too much like powdered sugar, add more vanilla! I did just that, and it saved the filling. I doubled the ingredients for the chocolate topping and it was the perfect amount to cover the whole pan. The end result tasted a little different than I'm used to, but I DID have to omit the coconut. Next time, I think I'll add a little cocoa to the base so there's more chocolate flavor, but they DID turn out really tasty. Thanks, Shirly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
one batch was ok but the other came out too soft. will double chocolate on top next time and will not melt butter before adding to sugar so that icing is firmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
These are okay. i had a big party & made four different versions of this cookie to see which was the most popular. This recipe was the only batch that had leftovers. The crust never got hard and the middle was too rich and powdered sugary tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States