Nanaimo Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
These are okay. i had a big party & made four different versions of this cookie to see which was the most popular. This recipe was the only batch that had leftovers. The crust never got hard and the middle was too rich and powdered sugary tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
The best Nanaimo bars I have tasted.I had to freeze them right away my husband would of ate the whole batch.These will definately be a hit at Christmas.Thanks Shirly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
I followed a previous reviewer's advice of using graham wafer crumbs instead of coconut (my husband is allergic too). I used margarine instead of butter, 1 cup of graham wafer crumbs, and corn syrup instead of the egg. For the filling, I used more like a tablespoon of vanilla. TASTE the filling before spreading it over the base!! If it tastes too much like powdered sugar, add more vanilla! I did just that, and it saved the filling. I doubled the ingredients for the chocolate topping and it was the perfect amount to cover the whole pan. The end result tasted a little different than I'm used to, but I DID have to omit the coconut. Next time, I think I'll add a little cocoa to the base so there's more chocolate flavor, but they DID turn out really tasty. Thanks, Shirly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
These bars were a hit with everyone! The two batches I made disappeared in no time. The consistency was a little soft though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
I made these and they were yummy but I have a few suggestions. My husband is allergic to coconut so I used mixed nuts and graham cracker crumbs. I also followed the suggestion of another rater and doubled the middle layer. I won't do that again - it came out TOO sweet. I also lined the pan with aluminum foil and greased the foil. Made it much easier to lift out and cut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONASPROF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2000
I made these for Christmas and they were a BIG hit with everyone. these are more like candy than a cookie so be sure to cut in small pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
Delicious! These are served in our local Borders and I think this recipe's version is even better! Make sure to cut in small pieces as they are incredibly rich and scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This recipie blows it up !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie munster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
Good but very sweet. I may try milk chocolate next time, and a little less frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I love Nanaimo Bars and thought this was going to be one good one, but it was not. I would not recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle1979

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States