Nanaimo Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Great bars! I've made them twice and they turn out really nice, they also set very well so they're not still gooey. Will keep this recipe in my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. M

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I served this at a Vancouver Olympics party in honor of Canadian food. This turned out okay, but it was way too sweet I think. I left out the coconut and walnuts, but I definitely think nuts should stay in to add texture. I used 2 tablespoons of vanilla pudding, which worked find. I also used 3 tbs of half and half since I had it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Great! I have been looking for the nanaimo bar recipe and finally found it. Thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I just made these this morning and they are so easy and delish. I recommend chilling after each layer, that way it's easier to spread and doesn't get all crumby. Everyone raves over these bars. It's just too bad they don't have more popularity outside of the northwest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bordertown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I am a horrible baker because I don't like to follow a recipe, and certainly do not like to use a measuring cup. I get by with my desserts, and some are hits - while some I keep to myself. I used this recipe as a guide because I liked that the egg was cooked - best to melt butter, remove from heat and add egg to the just melted butter - otherwise you'll get scrambled eggs in your chocolate. it is safe to eat an uncooked fresh egg (best to wash in hot water before cracking it open)... but I just feel better cooking it - especially from the supermarket
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyler Lupton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
My family approved!! They loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by y-vonne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I use the same recipe, HOWEVER - I crush the chopped walnuts in a ziploc bag with a meat hammer, so they are not huge chunks. I also use 1-1/3 cup of butter in the crust, with 2 cups graham crumbs and 1/2 cup crushed walnuts in a 8x8 pan. Slowly add the crumbs to chocolate mixture to make for easy blending, and this gives a nice thick crust. The directions should tell you to mix the milk and the pudding mix prior to adding it to the butter (a key step) for the frosting. I personally make 50% more frosting. The crust also works well with pecans and almonds... NO coconut thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liddie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Great for Canada day. But they are labor intensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse in Africa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
We used cook and serve jello brand custard in place of the custard powder, everything set up and they tasted yummy. However, next time I'm going to try instant vanilla pudding if I can't find the custard powder, since that layer doesn't get cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Ellen Pedroza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Crestline, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This is a great recipe I remember it from Christmas' past. It was one of my mother's specialties and now it's mine. But a quick tip. Once the chocolate on top is hardened, take it out of the refridgerator and let stand 30-60 minutes before cutting into squares. This softenes the chocolate just enough so it won't crack under the pressure of the knife. Chill after. Also if you want to make to impress, double the custard icing and add a drizzle of white chocolate(melt 1/2 cup white chocolate chips with 1 tablespoon butter/margarine) on top while chocolate is still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Martin Turley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: East York, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States