Nanaimo Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2001
Everyone I have made these for has devoured them. Definitely a family favorite with us. Really moist too.(I have to keep telling them that it is not really fudge). I highly recommend these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
MOST EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
I've had this recipe in the family for years. Do youself a favour when you make it & omit the walnuts & coconut. We've probably made the recipe over 100 times in our family in the past. Tonight for the first time in years I put in the coconut & walnuts, big mistake. Only good thing is it will take about 5 times as long as normal for the Nanaimo bars to disappear. I like walnuts & coconut but NOT in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
Just like from home!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
I've had Nanaimo bars many times and this recipe called for a bit too many graham cracker crumbs. IT made the crust a bit to dry. Next time I'll reduce it a little. My sister says to just add the crumbs slowly until you reach the texture you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
Great recipe! I doubled the middle part - the butter, confectioners sugar, custard and milk. Made a nice thick middle to match the crust. Most delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
These were really good. This was the first time I've ever made these and I don't believe I've ever had them in the past. I didn't have enough cracker crumbs to make 2 cups so I used quick cooking oats to make up for the rest. I didn't add the coconut and instead of vanilla custard powder, I used vanilla nut coffee creamer. I topped this off with some homemade hot fudge sauce I had made (also from this site) rather than drizzling it with melted chocolate. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
Great recipe! Although I found the bottom layer a little thicker than I was used to. I used Hershey's semi-sweet mint chocolate chips for the top layer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
Sinfully delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOLDDE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
I made these for a school fundraiser. I couldn't find custard powder so I used flan powder instead. Maybe this is why the second layer was not as solid as I had hoped it would be for plating. Even though they turned out a little messy, they were very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Peanut Butter Bars I

If you love chocolate and peanut butter together, these are the bars for you.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States