Nanaimo Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Roomies loved them. One is going to chef school and advised me to keep the recipe because it was great. Just didn't use walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
My FAVORITE dessert ever!! This is my first time to make these, but I grew up eating them in Canada. I followed the recipe exactly and they came out perfect. You should definitely try this recipe. Oh- sometimes it can be hard to find custard powder (at least in the stores here in TX!) it works well with vanilla pudding powder too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICUP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
I have made this recipe several times and love it. I generally don't like Nanaimo Bars because they are too sweet and rich but these are perfect. I leave out the nuts. They are not traditional to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
If I could give this 10 stars I would. These are wonderful! They are sweet but the flavor is evenly balanced--not extraordinarily rich. I will be making these quite frequently, especially since I don't have to turn the oven on to make them! Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I use Bird's custard powder from Canada, but I've heard you can use instant pudding. Instead of the cocoa powder and 1/4 cup sugar, use 2 ounces of melted semi-sweet chocolate and 2 Tablespoons sugar. I used pecans instead of walnuts, and chopped them finely in the food processor. I think I might put more chocolate & butter in the glaze next time. I also thought it was a bit thin. I thought they might be sweet for people, but everyone loved them. I live in southeast Alaska, and I've eaten Nanaimo bars for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
These were fabulous! I can't think of anything bad to say about them, except that maybe I'd add about another tsp of butter next time, the bottom seemed a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I fell in love with nanaimo bars thanks to a coworker who's a native Canadian. I made these this weekend and my husband LOVED them!!! We fought over the last piece last night. lol The only thing I changed from the recipe is I used 1/2 C broken pretzel pieces, because I'm allergic to nuts. This still gave the bars a satisfying crunch, without me itching from head to toe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
I had problems galore with this recipe. The base crust I thought was a little thick. The instructions for the custard layer weren't clear so my custard never was completely mixed and was runny. I used the entire bar of chocolate but it just wasn't enough. Everytime I have had these in Canada, the entire top layer was chocolate. I may try this recipe again with some major tweaking. The one thing I can say is that even without the custard power, they DID taste just like Nanaimo bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I just spent my entire Canadian vacation sampling this dessert whenever I got the chance. As soon as I got home I had to try it for myself. This recipe was exactly like it. I had to use vanilla pudding mix as our store doesn't carry the custard and it was fine but I may try to order some of the custard just to see if it makes it any better than it already is. It is a rich dessert and worth all the calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
its so0o0o0o0o goooddd!^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States