Nanaimo Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
My FAVORITE dessert ever!! This is my first time to make these, but I grew up eating them in Canada. I followed the recipe exactly and they came out perfect. You should definitely try this recipe. Oh- sometimes it can be hard to find custard powder (at least in the stores here in TX!) it works well with vanilla pudding powder too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICUP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
I have made this recipe several times and love it. I generally don't like Nanaimo Bars because they are too sweet and rich but these are perfect. I leave out the nuts. They are not traditional to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
If I could give this 10 stars I would. These are wonderful! They are sweet but the flavor is evenly balanced--not extraordinarily rich. I will be making these quite frequently, especially since I don't have to turn the oven on to make them! Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I use Bird's custard powder from Canada, but I've heard you can use instant pudding. Instead of the cocoa powder and 1/4 cup sugar, use 2 ounces of melted semi-sweet chocolate and 2 Tablespoons sugar. I used pecans instead of walnuts, and chopped them finely in the food processor. I think I might put more chocolate & butter in the glaze next time. I also thought it was a bit thin. I thought they might be sweet for people, but everyone loved them. I live in southeast Alaska, and I've eaten Nanaimo bars for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
These were fabulous! I can't think of anything bad to say about them, except that maybe I'd add about another tsp of butter next time, the bottom seemed a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I fell in love with nanaimo bars thanks to a coworker who's a native Canadian. I made these this weekend and my husband LOVED them!!! We fought over the last piece last night. lol The only thing I changed from the recipe is I used 1/2 C broken pretzel pieces, because I'm allergic to nuts. This still gave the bars a satisfying crunch, without me itching from head to toe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
I had problems galore with this recipe. The base crust I thought was a little thick. The instructions for the custard layer weren't clear so my custard never was completely mixed and was runny. I used the entire bar of chocolate but it just wasn't enough. Everytime I have had these in Canada, the entire top layer was chocolate. I may try this recipe again with some major tweaking. The one thing I can say is that even without the custard power, they DID taste just like Nanaimo bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I just spent my entire Canadian vacation sampling this dessert whenever I got the chance. As soon as I got home I had to try it for myself. This recipe was exactly like it. I had to use vanilla pudding mix as our store doesn't carry the custard and it was fine but I may try to order some of the custard just to see if it makes it any better than it already is. It is a rich dessert and worth all the calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
its so0o0o0o0o goooddd!^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
I made these for a school fundraiser. I couldn't find custard powder so I used flan powder instead. Maybe this is why the second layer was not as solid as I had hoped it would be for plating. Even though they turned out a little messy, they were very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States