Nana Dot's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ~S~
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I have never had Irish Soda Bread before, so I have nothing to compare this to. This was very much like a big, yummy, buttery biscuit. I didn't have caraway seeds or currants, so I only used raisins. I made one round with the raisins, and one without, because some of my family doesn't like raisins. I liked the one with the raisins better. They gave it a nice mildly sweet flavor. Maybe it was my oven, but I found that I needed to increase the baking time about 5-7 minutes and I had to drape foil over the bread for the last 10 minutes or so, to prevent over-browning. All in all, this was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~S~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Very Good recipes! A lot like scones. I used my food processor to incorporate the butter which made it a lot faster than by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I found this recipe very good,I just took the currants out though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Now THIS is what soda bread is supposed to taste like! Perfect texture! This is the best thing to come out of my oven in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This had a wonderful texture and the kids loved it. I did not have currants or caraway seeds,but for our purposes I think that just raisins was perfect. I think this bread would have been great even without the raisins. It wasn't as powdery as some other soda bread recipes are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jakubowski Matteson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Loved it! I made two different recipes for Irish Soda Bread and far-and-away preferred this one for the following reasons: 1. Texture. This was so light and flaky. The other one I made was very heavy and dense. 2. Quick cooking time: Only 30 minutes! (I did need an additional 5 minutes.) 3. Round loaves: I like my Irish Soda Bread in round loaves, not in loaf pans. This makes 2 round loaves, so we ate one and gave the other away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
The combined taste of raisins and caraway seeds in this recipe is wonderful. I'd never had Irish soda bread before, but this was great! This recipe will not give you cake-like bread, but a denser, scone-like loaf; I imagine it’s more of a traditional Irish soda bread recipe. I halved the recipe, left out the currants, and didn’t need to cook it quite as long as suggested. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
this was my first time making Irish soda bread, and it turned out fantastic!!! this soda bread has the taste of a homemade, true Irish soda bread and doesn't have that cake consistency that some soda breads have. i give this soda bread an A+++++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Best soda bread recipe I've made from this site. Saves really well as long as you have it covered. Toasts wonderfully. As far as traditional goes, because this recipe is one of the only ones to not have eggs in it, it is a bit closer to 'traditional' Irish Soda bread (which is just buttermilk, flour, soda, and salt). If you ask me, this variation is much more flavorful, but a lot closer to the right texture. As far as dried fruit goes, I had a neighbor who immigrated from Ireland who made soda bread with currants in it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States