Nana Dot's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I used 1 1/2 c whole wheat flour and 1 c all-purpose. I added an extra T of sugar. I omitted the caraway seeds, and used all raisins since I didn't have currants. My husband doesn't like raisins, so I reserved them until I was kneading the dough, then added them to only one loaf, kneading them in right before I formed the loaf for baking. I had to bake for an extra 15 minutes at 375 F, for a total of 45 minutes baking time. I took the loaves out of the oven when the tops were golden brown and a knife inserted into the middle came out clean. I'll definitely make this again -- possibly tomorrow! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This was yummy. Not too heavy. Wonderful hot out of the oven. I did not put in the currants or caraway seeds because I didn't have them. I served this with corned beef and cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Excellent recipe as written! I made minor modifications, omitting caraway seeds and currants because I did not have any on hand. I also used golden raisins in place of regular raisins, increasing the quantity to 1.5 c to replace the missing currants. It came out with a wonderful texture and taste. Thanx JerzPixelPusher!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rx 2 RV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fair Oaks, California, USA
Photo by Meryl_chan
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This recipe is good, but it's not Irish soda bread. It's more like a gigantic, buttery biscuit. It's a very good buttery biscuit, but not the Irish soda bread I remember from childhood, so I could only give it 4 stars for misleading me. . . This is a really quick and easy quick bread, and seems to please everyone. It's also very versatile and adaptable. Don't let the 4 stars make you reluctant to try it, just remember that it's just not Irish soda bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meryl_chan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Really, really quick and easy - baked perfectly. Thanks Nana! My nine year old made it as directed, but left out the raisins, caraway seeds and currents (yes - picky eater) - I added tablespoon more sugar (not necessary). It was very tasty and none was left-over. We will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I didn't know what soda bread was so decided to try it because I love caraway seed. Well! I just love this and it is addictive. The only things I did different was to use margerine instread of butter and use buttermilk and leave out the vinegar. A deffinate keeper. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This was wonderful! I didn't have the caraway seeds on hand so I omitted them, but there wasn't a crumb left by the end of my St. Patrick's Day! It turned out rich and dense--almost creamy in its texture. It was a definite family hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janis0201

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I can't really rate the recipe since I modified the recipe a bit to suit my tastes. I used all whole wheat flour 3/4 cup + 3 tbs BUTTERMILK instead of the milk with apple cider vinegar. Eliminated the caraway seed, currants and raisins since I wanted to serve it plain with something savory. Used frozen butter ( to insure it will be flaky) and just cut it in with two knives. Shaped it into 2 round loaves and cut a cross in the middle of each loaf. Before baking, I brushed the loaves with about 1/4 cup buttermilk to get a nice crusty outside. The baking time was just fine for me since I have a convection oven. Hope this helps! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MunchiesDepudged

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by luckymom
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I love you Nana Dot! This was OUTSTANDING. The only changes I made were: no carway seeds (it was optional anyway) and I did not have any currants so I used craisins along with the raisins. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kennebunk, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I substituted 3/4 tsp. anise extract for caraway seeds. Recipe made 2 small loaves, which tasted very good; more like a scone or muffin texture. It was moister and tasted even better after a couple of days. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States