Nana Dot's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Soooo yummy and easy. My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Delicious and easy! We used buttermilk in place of milk&vinegar and it was great. I'll make this a few more times before March 17th! Also, we got 2 loaves out of it, but it definitely wouldn't serve 24 of us. More like 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This is the best recipe I have found for Soda Bread! Just in time for St. Patrick's Day. I brushed a bit of buttermilk on the crust before baking to brown / crisp it a bit. It came out delicious... Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
this was a perfect recipe! and to to all the people having the problems with the baking time, if you cross cut the dough before you stick it in the oven (the traditional way of baking to "let the faeries out" while its baking) this cooking time is perfect. i added an extra T of sugar and put about a 1/4 t of vanilla in it to add a little extra oomph and that also made this recipe super popular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
A really good slightly sweet bread with a crusty outside and tender inside. I have never seen or tasted an Irish Soda Bread before, and this turned out very well. The directions say to bake the ball of dough, but I flattened the ball into a circle about 1 1/2 inches tall as I thought that might bake more evenly. The bread rose up with a nice rounded top. I would recommend a lower baking temp or less baking time as my bread was already browning at 15 min. and was done before the 30 min. time specified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Not the *very best* soda bread I’ve ever had, but excellent nonetheless. I put it on the table to go with a meal and it became the star attraction. The reward for the effort makes this recipe a good use of your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Very good- like a giant british scone, only more crunchy on the outside due to the longer baking time. It was too mushy to knead, and needed a lot longer (and lower temp) baking to finish the inside. So when I make again (definitely will), I will use less milk. But it was really very good. I like that the sweetness comes from the dried fruit instead of white sugar. (I skipped the caraway, by the way. I think that would probably ruin it! But to each his/her own!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Never made Irish soda bread before... awesome! I used 1 cup dried dates instead of raisins/currants and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Excellent Texture. I used raisins & chopped Apples, and a tiny bit of almond extract for sweetnes.....excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erika80

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Very tasty with butter when it's still hot. I thought the temp was a bit high as mine browned to quickly (and I started at 375F). I suggest 180C/350F. The texture is like a homemade style American style biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States