Nana Dot's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
THis was so easy to make and so tasty. Perfect amount of sweetness from the dried fruit (I only used raisins). As another rater stated the top of mine was very brown after the first 15 minutes so I did tent it with foil for the remaining time. Based on other reviews as well, I left it in the over to about 10 minutes AFTER I the oven off at the specified time just to be sure it cooked all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I never had Irish Soda Bread before. I decided to make it today. This recipe is great!!! It took minutes to put together and my husband rolled his eyes upon tasting it and said, "Hmmmm....this is delicious!" I didn't have currents, but I will definitely get some now...I used caraway seeds and glad I did...Thank you! I will make over and over....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moosic, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Seneca Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Best bread I've ever made (and the first I've ever bothered to rate, heh). Absolutely excellent, wonderfully buttery and soft. I used both raisins and currants in the amounts given, but no caraway seeds, and it was amazing. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
5 stars! Great recipe. I tried the amazingly easy Irish Soda bread from this site last year and it did not come out nearly as good it was very dense unlike this recipe. The only moderations I had was that I used 3 quarter cup and a Tablespoon of buttermilk instead of the milk and apple cider vinegar. I also made road loaves and cut an X in the top. Thank you for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This was a good recipe, but it isn't a "traditional" Irish soda bread recipe. Dried fruit was only a rare occasion to add and butter was put on the bread after it was baked, not in the dough. So your recipe was changed as it got passed down and got "Americanized" if you want the real traditional Irish Soda bread check out the Society for the Preservation of Irish Soda Bread to get the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foulmouthmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Made this for the first time. It was easy and delicious! Only used half a cup of raisins cuz I was out, but it was perfect! Thanks for this delicious and easy recipe! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: La Mirada, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Soooo yummy and easy. My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Delicious and easy! We used buttermilk in place of milk&vinegar and it was great. I'll make this a few more times before March 17th! Also, we got 2 loaves out of it, but it definitely wouldn't serve 24 of us. More like 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This is the best recipe I have found for Soda Bread! Just in time for St. Patrick's Day. I brushed a bit of buttermilk on the crust before baking to brown / crisp it a bit. It came out delicious... Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
this was a perfect recipe! and to to all the people having the problems with the baking time, if you cross cut the dough before you stick it in the oven (the traditional way of baking to "let the faeries out" while its baking) this cooking time is perfect. i added an extra T of sugar and put about a 1/4 t of vanilla in it to add a little extra oomph and that also made this recipe super popular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States