Nana Dot's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
Great tender Crumb and nice yellow color. I used irish butter, plumped the raisins in warm water, and put turbaned sugar on the outside. After shaping it I let the loaf sit for 10 minutes before baking to let the loaf rise a little, like a mini proof. Made a half recipe and came out wonderful! perfect size little loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue Maloney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I halved the recipe (ended up using about ~3/4 cup butter), used GF flour, buttermilk instead of milk, and only the caraway seeds as a mix-in.....the result was a deliciously salty, buttery and satisfying bread that is worthy of eating year-round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Simmons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I have used this recipe every St. Paddy's day for the last 5 years and it always gets rave reviews! I usually leave out the caraway seed (I think it's too strong of a flavor for a crowd.) When I split it in 2, I put raisins in half and leave the other half plain. I haven't had leftover bread yet! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carnation, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Wow, this was delicious! I have never made Irish soda bread before and did not know what to expect. I gotta say, going into the oven and while it was baking, it just looked like a big biscuit and I was prepared to be disappointed. But hot out of the oven, my boys dove into it and LOVED it! I will absolutely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I needed a good basic recipe to start from and this hit the mark. I think pretty much everyone adjusts recipes to their taste, so here are my adjustments. It was wonderful, and I will make this again. I used 3/4 cup (plus a splash extra) buttermilk instead of milk & vinegar. I added an extra Tbsp sugar, 1/4 tsp vanilla and omitted the raisins, currants and caraway seeds. I formed the dough into two round loaves, cross cut the top and brushed with a mixture of buttermilk & vanilla (when I poured my 1/4 tsp over the measuring cup a little spilled over so I went with it)... Then I sprinkled a little white sugar on the top before baking at 375 for 25 minutes, turned the oven off and allowed the bread to finish baking as the oven cooled slightly (~5 minutes). Absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Good God, Nana Dot knew what she was doing. I figured I'd bring a soda bread to the family dinner on St. Patrick's Day. I've never made one before but this turned out light and tasty and it was not a hassle to make. I didn't see currants at the store so I chopped up some dessert dates (the kind that come ready to eat; very sweet and rather sticky) but other than that didn't change anything. This is about as easy to make as homemade pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Madden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Great recipe. The taste and texture were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Looks just like my grandmother's bread from growing up in Galway, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Really easy! No raisins, or not enough? I used chopped dates! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Yes, and it was delicious. Great hit with kids and adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States