Nana Dot's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This recipe was great! I made this for a St.Patrick's Day party and everyone there loved it. This was the first time I've made Irish soda bread; it reminded me alot of making buttermilk biscuits. My husband said to put it on my "Make Again" list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Loxley, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Excellent! Made it to bring in to work, people kept asking me for my recipe! Quick and easy and tasty. This is going in my permanent recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Made this for a dinner with friends and ate several slices of it before I served them! Yummy! I added dried cherries instead of the currants. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
FAB-U-LOUS! If you like Irish Soda Bread, this is the bomb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
We loved this with our corned beef and cabbage soup. Couldn't stop eating it. But did need 5 more min to cook. I put foil over it for the last few min so it wouldn't burn outside was done inside needed more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Made this for St. Patty's - nice texture inside and out. Not dried out at all - and not difficult to make. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFWARBRICK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallman, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emily
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
My whole family loved the taste of this bread. I also like that you don't have to go out and buy buttermilk just for the recipe. The milk plus vinegar used in the recipe is a perfect substitute. Preparation was fairly simple and we only used raisins (1.5 cups) since that's all we had on hand. As far as baking goes, I found that after just 15 minutes in the oven on 400 the bread was already brown AND crunchy on the outside. So I had to cover it with foil for the remainder of cooking time. And we noticed it was quite crumbly when we cut into it (so on the dry side) but still the taste was delicious! Next time I bake it, will have have to watch it like a hawk to make sure it doesn't brown too much or get too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Marie Sweden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This is the first time I ever tried to make Irish Soda Bread, but we have some every year, usually store bought. This is THE best soda bread anyone in my family has ever tasted, and my next door neighbor loved the loaf I gave her, too. Didn't use currants, only raisins, simply because no one sells currants around here. Also added 2 teaspoons of cinnamon, and used Splenda instead of sugar. Out of this world good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wolf308

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Yummm..Meeeee!!! I made this for St Patty's day and it was devored by my entire family!!! I left out the raisens and currents b/c my daughter would not have eaten it otherwise. However next time I will make a double batch and put the currants in half and nothing in the other! Super easy!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States