Nana Bessie's Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
very good loved the cream inside nice soft cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Hinrichs Williams

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cortland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Don't waste your time nor your ingredients on this. The filling was awful. Nothing like a traditional whoopee pie. YUCK. What the tast of REAL whoopee pie... look up Emeril Lagasse's Whoopie pie.. I had to start all over and This IS THE WHOOPIE PIE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Tomolonius

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
The cakes were good, but the icing recipe was off. I agree with other reviewers that there was an excess of bland flavored icing. I tweaked it and the result was delicious...essentially I would follow the recipe but change the icing proportions as follows: 1 cup milk 3 tablespoons of all-purpose flour 3/4 cups vegetable shortening 3/4 cups butter 2 cups white sugar 1 Tablespoon of vanilla (or almond) extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Cakes were ok but flavor was a little lacking. After reading reviews I just used canned frosting which worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin Perszyk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
These were good! The cakes were kind of dry, but I suspsect that was because I replaced half the shortening with butter. Will be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vine Grove, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Filling was a total flop, but the cakes were really good. The filling was one of the most disappointing (and time consuming) of my baking endeavors. Will use my grandmothers recipe next time for the filling, but might stick with this recipe for the cakes. I definitely learned from this recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcoombs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
They were pretty good different from what I had expected but good though in a different way! Very chocolately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sublette, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I'd add some marshmallow fluff to the filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
These are delicious, the only drawback for me was the richness of the filling. I really piled it on the cakes, and it was just too much. I will definately put less filling next time. I also used a tip from another whoopie recipe and wrapped each one in plastic wrap, then refrigerated them. They are good straight from the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Cakes were great!! Didn't care for the filling much. If you do decide to make this filling, I would suggest dividing it in half. Makes way too much, even with being generous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States