Nan May's Snowballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I hate to be Debbie Downer here but this was awful...I followed the recipe exactly and the cooked mixture was too soupy and would not roll into a ball to roll into the coconut - threw the whole mess into the garbage - I lived in Argentia, Newfoundland back in '64 and was excited to make this but no way...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Esposito

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This recipe is dead easy and, takes me bake to being a kid. Newfie nan, aunt and mum all made these. That's how I learned to make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Substitute the milk with a can of 370ml Carnation evaporated milk and then it's authentic newfie snowballs! Plus it taste so much better! This recipe is still pretty good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie E Griffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Thank you for this recipe! tastes exactly like I remember and was very easy to make. I followed exactly as above and they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
A Christmas tradition for many Newfoundlanders! Thanks so much for posting:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I too grew up in Newfoundland and these were a "must-have" during the Christmas season. My kids loved them, especially when they helped make them. Thanks for sharing !! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueZanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
So good. I also grew up in Newfoundland and was a treat to have these at Christmas. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
As a "coconut-aholic" I loved this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States