Nacho Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I am HIGHLY allergic to dairy, so when I came to this recipe, I was looking for one I could easily doctor for mac 'n cheese and nachos or whatever I feel like at the mo, lol. Anyway, I also can't have soy, and since I use hazlenut milk, in order to keep it from overpowering things, I used 3 parts chicken brother and one part hazlenut milk, or all hazlenut milk depending on how sweet/creamy I want it. Since I can't have "normal" cheese, I use Daiya Cheddar Flavored Shreds. When I used the sauce for mac 'n cheese, my bros, my bff, and my hubby all thought it tasted like the real thing, so woohoo!!! Keep in mind, I am not vegan, and for flavor, I use half lard and hald organic vegetable shortening so the lard flavor doesn't overpower, to replace the butter. :) Awesome base recipe, works perfect, even if you are allergic or vegan. :D God Bless ~Amy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by godssoulsinger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
WOW! nacho cheese with cheese SLICES?! crazy good! i will never buy sauce at the store again! so easy. i did add a little bit of jar habanero sauce because we like a little kick. i would have used jalapenos if i had them too. great consistency and the kids loooved it. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This is by far the best homemade nacho cheese sauce i have ever had. It's simple yet tastes way better than the gourmet recipes with special cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I just made this. Sooo yummy. I halved it and used velveeta and pepper jack cheese, added a little salsa, no salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dog lover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This is a great nacho cheese recipe. I added a few TBSPs of Picante salsa to give it more flavor. Simple and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I loved this recipe. As the original recipe it would be great for veggies/mac'n cheese. For myself I didn't add any salt(there is enough in the cheese, & dietary restrictions). With the addition of red and green tabasco sauce, an extra cheese slice, and a couple of squeezes of prepared yellow mustard it rocked as a nacho cheese sauce. I read in a review something about being runny.... this could be because the person didn't use the right and/or enough cheese. The floury taste goes away if you melt the butter and add the flour and cook it by itself for a minute or two before adding in the milk. This is a great basic recipe that I will keep using now that I finally found exactly what I was looking for in a cheese sauce recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francina Alley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stony Plain, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I wouldn't change a thing. This is the real deal NATCHO dip! (I also use it on veggies sometimes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
A quick cheese sause to make, has a good taste to it.. easy to add in other things for extra flavor, a very universal cheese sauce. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This is a great cheese sauce! One big suggestion though, buy the Kraft Deli Deluxe sharp cheddar slices in the 8 pack. Just use the whole thing. It makes it wonderfully cheesy and creamy. I'm eating it right now! I mixed about 1/3c fresh salsa with it and it made a great nacho sauce. This was definitely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shira G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 399) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States