Naan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Carly Louise
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I have never made naan and had a craving for it, so I searched recipes until I found one that I had all the ingredients all ready at hand. I had intentions of only making half and in my absent mindedness, that only made it as far as 1/2 a packet of yeast. I still used a full cup of water along with everything else. I ended up only using around 3 cups of flour +- for kneading/rolling and I only used 2 tablespoons of almond milk. Only because that was the only milk product I had. I also added a teaspoon of baking soda. After an hour of letting it rise, I kneaded in 1/2 teaspoon of minced garlic and a sprinkle of garlic powder and did 2-3 different pinches of dough to combine them into their individual balls like someone had suggested to make them bubbly. After 30 minutes, I partially clarified butter and added minced garlic to it. I fried them in a sauté pan with a little vegetable oil as well because butter has such a low burn temp. They were just like pancakes, when you start to see bubbles, flip them. I took a picture, but I have no idea where they show up on here, this is my first time, but it's the one with the 2 pieces on a purple bowl with some super quick, frozen vegetables, 2 tomatoes and spicy red curry paste, dish. I love this recipe. Mine are slightly chewy, a little airy and the perfect density to hold up to saucy dishes and no silverware.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Louise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Using tips from others, I added a teaspoon of sugar to the yeast and water. I used about 2/3 of the sugar. I also cooked the naan on the outdoor grill on a pizza stone. My family loved it. Served it with a Red curry Thai dish that I love. 2nd time I made this I used the recipe for pizza dough. The best was with parsley pesto, sun dried tomatoes, goat cheese, arugula salad, and a bit of mozzarella to top it off. Also made this on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GPGodek
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Just made it as written, with the exception of cooking it in a pan instead of the grill. Looks and smells amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This was my first time making naan. I used my bread machine using 3 1/2 cups flour and I did not proof the yeast. Dough turned out perfect. I fired up the outside grill and grilled the first naan but with the hot Texas temperature in August I just couldn't fathom grilling a dozen of these so I shut it down and grilled them inside on a Lodge cast iron grill skillet. They turned out great with lovely grill marks. Couldn't tell the difference from the one grilled outside and the ones grilled inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Naan is awesome! This recipe worked well. Used KitchenAid mixer - sticky dough, but workable with extra flour. A lot of work, but worth every second. Family and friends raved for days! Adding to my repertoire:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Loved it! Comes out perfect every time! I made a few variations of my own, I proofed the yeast with 2 teaspoons raw sugar just to be safe, added 3 tbsp Greek yogurt, 2 tbsp coconut milk and 2 tbsp olive oil. Swapped out 2 tbsp raw sugar and 2 tbsp dark brown sugar for the 1/4 cup white sugar and also I only start off with about 4 cups of flour and add more as I knead when neccesary, and it turns out delicious! The Greek yogurt gives it that extra "oomph" Definitely a keeper! The family requests it every time we have Indian, it goes great with chicken curry and our friends can't believe we make this at home. Delicious delicious naan bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cleopatra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Great recipe! Have made it several times, didn't have garlic and I left the melted butter out, after I rolled it out I grilled it on my little gas bbq
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I love this version of this recipe with less flour (4 1/2 cups must be a typo). I have done this recipe several times now in my bread machine and it is soooo easy and so good. I don't use packets of yeast in my bread machine. Therefore, I use 2 t. of bread machine yeast. 3 1/3 - 3 1/2 cups of bread flour. For the bread machine I prepare the dry mixture first (flour, salt and mix together) for the wet mixture I use HOT water and mix in the sugar, and add the milk. Then pour the wet into bread machine first, add dry mixture on top, make a well in the center and add the yeast. I start the machine (dough setting) and once things are mixing together a bit, I add the beaten egg to the center, close the lid and let the machine do the rest of the mixing and rising. When done, I turn the dough out onto flour and cut into 12 equal pieces. Roll out into 7-8" rounds like tortillas (no need to pinch into two balls). I place the first 4 on a platter separate each layer until all rolled out. Cover with another layer of parchment and a towel. Let rise for 30 min. Start grill, cook each side for 1-2 minutes. They will bubble and get some grill marks, flip. Done! They are quick, easy. Your hands-on time will be measuring (10 min) and rolling (15-20 min). The rest is passive time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I used 1/2 the sugar, folded some cooled sautéed red onion and crushed garlic into the dough, and seasoned then with salt and garlic while grilling. They cooked faster than stated, but I made them pretty thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Excellent recipe! I grilled it over an open charcoal fire and got superb results. Watch them, they cook fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dacula, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Naan

See how to make delicious homemade naan.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States