Mystery Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lillydee
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I had no lemon pudding mix and from the sound of the reviews, I'm glad i didn't. instead I used sugar free cheesecake pudding mix, some grated lemon zest and the juice of 1 lemon, alomg with just the pineapple juice from pineapple tidbits. My family liked the flavor but thought it was too loose. I agree with another reviewer that it would be better with Cool Whip or whip cream folded into it. All in all it was good and a change from my usual fruit salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillydee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I agree with a previous reviewer that this was a bit tart and the lemon pudding taste was too prominent. Even though I gave the recipe only 3 stars, I like the idea of such a refreshing salad that can be made early in the day and will try it again with a different flavor pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Very tasty! I did use sugar free vanilla pudding instead. Fresh and tropical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
This recipe is the same thing my mother used to make in the 70's during the Tang craze! The only differnce in the two is instead of the lemon pudding mix use 1/2 cup Tang was a childhood fav I had forgotten about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
I was sceptical after reading some of the reviews. However, I prepared this but omitted the nuts and I used the pineapple chunks that are in their own juice (no sugar added). My family really liked it. My husband did request that I add more bananas in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lily Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
I prepared the pudding mix with 1 cup milk and 1 cup whipped cream instead of the fruit juices to make a thicker salad. This is nicely sweet. Nuts add a good crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This recipe is really good. When I make it I omit the nuts and use cheesecake flavored pudding. Makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
This recipe sounded good but it wasn't. The combination of the pineapple, oranges and their juices along with the lemon pudding produced a bitter acidic tang on your tongue. I was disappointed because it sounded like a very fresh combo. Everyone in my family said the same thing. I'm glad I tried it out before I took along to Thanksgiving at my mother-in-laws!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
What a mystery! Tried this recipe out on my beach buddies, total consensus was, what is this missing? too sweet, all you can taste is the lemon pudding. Adding whip cream might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States