My Special Shrimp Scampi Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Simple ingredients. Simple, delicious flavors. My kind of meal. What's more, this was simple to prepare and required very few dishes. I prepared this with the ingredients exactly as written, but enjoyed the cooking process by not measuring exactly, which also allowed me to use the ingredients in amounts to suit my own tastes and preferences. This is a beautiful and delicious dish - big payoff for little effort - I had this served in minutes from start to finish. I exercised self-discipline tonight and rather than serving it over rice I used "Miracle Rice." (Described as "Shirataki rice, guilt free rice, zero calories, soy free, gluten free." I can handle that)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
What an oily, buttery, fattening MESS! This was good, but good grief! The main sauce ingredients were oil, butter and more oil! I halved those ingredients and added some Chardonnay with a bit of corn starch to thicken it up a bit. I also added the juice of 1/2 a lemon. I am soooo glad I did! I can't imagine this otherwise! Don't get me wrong, this was very good, but with a few alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This was delicious -- I was looking for a "no carb" recipe for my husband. I used just the "basil" only that comes in the squeeze tube which was all I had, and canned diced tomatoes, again all I had. I added more spinach than called for, but the taste of this is fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I've made this twice now and both times it has been a big hit! The only difference is I added thinly sliced onions and peppers. It has been such a big hit, can't wait to make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This was excellent! I loved all of the flavors. I served it over penne pasta. I used canned tomatoes and also added artichoke hearts. Would be great with chicken, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smarie07
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This was good, nothing amazing. I added 1/2 cup of white wine and a few splashes of lemon. It was an oily buttery mess though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This is fabulous, thank you Valerie! I used much more spinach, and next time will definitely try others suggestions and add lemon and/or white wine (meant to do it this time but forgot!) But even as it stands is really good...sop up the sauce with fresh rolls..yum, I wish there was some leftover I'd have it for breakfast! Update: have made this several times and often add about 1/2 cup of veggie broth to the butter and oil, and reduce it a bit, gives a bit more sauce and some extra flavour..oh yes and the wine! Maybe this is varying too much from the original recipe but the end result is 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I made this last night and it was amazing!! I used all the ingredients mentioned, and the recipe was very true to its description. Made it taste like restaurant quality and was so easy to make, with only a few ingredients. One thing to note..my daughter and I do not, i repeat, do NOT eat tomatoes ever. I decided to add some thinking that i would pick them out. We ate the tomatoes too, as it had all the flavors of this dish. I served this over pasta. think it's the combination of the flavors that makes it perfect. Definitely recommended, and will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neicy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
It was awesome, even without the pesto because I didnt have any on hand. My husband loved it, and hes not a fan of spinach. I added a whole package of spinach..instead of the recommended amount, and it was superb. I kept picking at it while cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lex Bubbles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
super easy AND flavorful...a great combination! I did use more spinach cause i love it and canned stewed tomatoes. A clean fresh flavor bound to please everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States