My Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This recipe was simple and very good. I cut the slices about 1/4 inch, and melted the butter to pour on top. I then added a layer of dried parsley and a thin layer of seasoned salt. Came out great- no leftovers! This is very easy to adapt, also- sprinkle with Italian herbs and Parmesan, or any other combo that goes with your meal. This will probably become an easy weeknight side at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Granger, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
These Potatoes are defiently a keeper. Very easy to make and every time I make them there is never any left overs. One more thing I put them in a single layer in the baking dish and cooked them for 1 hour for a more tender potato. Hope this helps :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I used red potatoes I had on hand and left the skins on. I pre-melted the butter, spread over potatoes, and then seasoned. I cooked them at 375 (i had some chicken in the oven too) and it worked just great. These were simple, easy, and tasted great. My husband loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
SOOOOOOOOOOOOO FAB!!!!!!!!! We served this with flank steak with horseradish sauce (from this site) for company and he couldn't stop raving about how good these potatoes were! I sliced my potatoes, put them in a baking dish, dizzled with melted butter and added the seasonings. I baked mine at 425 for about an hour because I doubled the recipe. I didn't turn the potatoes- some were crispy-some were soft..........soooooooooooo luscious! Make these!!!!! They're delicious!!!! I eyeballed the season salt because I used salted butter and didn't want to oversalt- use your judgement and you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
These were great and the entire family loved them. I did add some garlic powder and am really glad I did-fantastic addition! I highly recommend these-very easy side dish to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Good, not great. Laying butter slices on the potatoes didn't seem as practical to me as just drizzling them with olive oil, tho' melted butter would have achieved the same thing. The baking temperature of 350 degrees seemed low to me, so I raised the temperature to 400 degrees and I was pleased with that higher temperature. I also used fresh parsley rather than dried, always a better choice if you have it available. I sliced the potatoes lengthwise, about 1/2" thick, which made them particularly attractive on the plate. Sprinkling them with a little freshly grated Parmesan cheese gave them the pizzazz I think they cried out for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
We didn't think this recipe came out very well. It was too salty, and it wasn't clear whether we were supposed to put the potatoes down in just one layer or in multiple layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEKID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This is a great recipe that you can play with adding what you want to the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigojo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Loved these...incredibly easy to make and both the grown-ups and the kids loved them. I did cover with foil to speed up the cooking time and then took it off to crisp them up. ALSO, the (few) leftovers we had were perfect "hashbrowns" the next morning! Thanks for a quick and easy alternative potato side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This was super yummy. we were tired of eating mashed potatoes, even though they are my favorite. I made a little more than this recipe calls for. I used 6 potatoes, 1/2-3/4 tablespoon dried parsley, and about 5 1/2 tablespoons butter. Salt to taste. My husband LOVED them. he went back for seconds, only to find that my mother and father-in-law had already eaten them lol. EXCEPTIONALLY DELICIOUS:)) thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States