My Own Famous Stuffed Grape Leaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
This is the first time I've ever tried making grape leaves, and let me tell you, the outcome wasn't pretty. LOL. However, the taste was out of this world. It was the perfect blend of lemon and dill and YUM. I didn't have the mint, but I will definitely make sure I have some next time as I think it would be a wonderful addition. Thanks for such a super recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
You want to make sure that you cook these long enough to cook the rice thoroughly: you don't want a crunchy dolma! I served mine with a lemon and mint flavored yogurt sauce (a little lemon juice and a bit of chopped mint), which made them even better. I also used what fresh herbs I had on hand: lemongrass and mint, and they were fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I felt this recipe turned out a little bland so I added a small amount of salt with the mint and dill and also when adding the chicken broth at the end just before cooking. I also like to add ground beef in mine and my husband prefers it this way as well. It turned out to be a great combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I gave this recipe a 4 rather than a 5 as the rice mixture did not turn out quite as flavorful as in the local deli. Next time I may add more of the mint or dill, and perhaps some toasted pine nuts. However, the method works perfectly if you follow directions exactly; (and yes, it DOES tell you when to add the mint; add it with the dill!) the rolled leaves stay intact if packed closely together in cooking pot. I actually crowded them a little. On the grape leaves; best bet is to buy Mazetta jar of grape leaves, they are quite large and work well. You want the grape leaves pretty tender, so just cook them longer (we cooked ours about 2 hours on a very low simmer) if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
I have never had stuffed grape leaves before, let alone made it so please take my review w/ a grain of salt. I liked the rice mixture but felt it could have benefited from some ground meat. It was the grape leaves I had a problem with. They had kind of a "wang" to them & I didn't like the texture. I cut the recipe in half & only stuffed about 8 grape leaves (there was just tow of us). We ate one each & threw the rest away...sorry. I saved the rest of the rice to have as a side dish w/ another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
My first time making stuffed grape leaves, if I had known they could be this easy I would have made them years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pelham, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: New Ipswich, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
I made this recipe exactly as written and really liked it. But my dinner guests had very mixed reviews. Two loved it, two thought it was OK, and two hated it enough to spit it out. Since I'm writing the review and liked it, I will give it four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
it's the first time i've made stuffed leaves and first time i've cooked somethingwith mint that is not desert and it's great everybody in my family loved it very much thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
As a person of Lebanese heritage, I have tasted and cooked many stuffed grapeleaf recipes. Most of them have meat, and I was looking for a vegetarian version. I used a vegetable broth instead of chicken for this recipe. This recipe was OUTSTANDING for flavor. I also added some toasted pine nuts. My one suggestion is to make sure that the rice is undercooked before stuffing. I cooked it to long, and the final cooking time of one hour was to long for the rice. It was kind of mushy. But the flavor and texture (before the last cooking) was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
Fabulous recipe! A couple of changes: veggie broth instead of chicken, dried herbs (adjusyed quantities), a little parsley, and grape leaves from a jar. It came out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States