My Own Famous Stuffed Grape Leaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 14, 2006
My first time making stuffed grape leaves, if I had known they could be this easy I would have made them years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pelham, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: New Ipswich, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
I made this recipe exactly as written and really liked it. But my dinner guests had very mixed reviews. Two loved it, two thought it was OK, and two hated it enough to spit it out. Since I'm writing the review and liked it, I will give it four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
it's the first time i've made stuffed leaves and first time i've cooked somethingwith mint that is not desert and it's great everybody in my family loved it very much thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
As a person of Lebanese heritage, I have tasted and cooked many stuffed grapeleaf recipes. Most of them have meat, and I was looking for a vegetarian version. I used a vegetable broth instead of chicken for this recipe. This recipe was OUTSTANDING for flavor. I also added some toasted pine nuts. My one suggestion is to make sure that the rice is undercooked before stuffing. I cooked it to long, and the final cooking time of one hour was to long for the rice. It was kind of mushy. But the flavor and texture (before the last cooking) was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
Fabulous recipe! A couple of changes: veggie broth instead of chicken, dried herbs (adjusyed quantities), a little parsley, and grape leaves from a jar. It came out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
these were great!. altho the rolling got abit tedious :P. i made a few changes simply because i didn't have exactly the ingredients on hand. i used instant brown rice which sped up the cook time of the rice mixture. i would simply reduce the amount of moisture to what the box requires for 2 cups. other wise you have to cook the extra moisture out. the brown rice gave it a bit nutty of a flavor which i really enjoyed. also i dont like mint. so i replaced the mint with parsley. i used dry herbs instead of fresh. i truly recommend giving the rolls and extra squeeze, packing them tight as possible in the pot, AND putting a plate on top to help them keep from busting.. really an easy , impressive recipe. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
Perfect!!! The best I have ever had!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
They are very tasty, but if your not sure what your doing this recipe is a little confusing. It calls for 1/2 cup mint but dosen't tell you when to put it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
This is a really tasty recipe. If I serve it as a main course, I add 1 lb of ground lamb, a handful of pinenuts or pistachios, a handful of dried cherries or cranberries, and about 2 oz of crumbled feta cheese. The lamb has a considerable amount of fat in it, so you can use half the amount of olive oil or eliminate it altogether. If you like Mediterranean and Middle Eastern Food, you will love this recipe. Don't let the pot get too hot, or your leaves will burst; I use flavorful basmati rice, so I prefer the rice to be fully cooked before stuffing the leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Oh my goodness...This recipe is the best. The grape leaves tasted just like the ones I get at a local Greek Festival. I had about a bowl full of rice left...I used a jar of the grape leaves in brine, so sometimes a teaspoon was too much filling because the leaves were all different sizes..So I just used the leftover rice as a side dish..It is delish!!! Thanks for the awesome recipe Patti!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States