My Own Famous Stuffed Grape Leaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I made this almost exactly as directed except that I halved it....and I further reduced the amount of olive oil for the simmering step to 1/4 cup. (Olive oil has 100-150 calories PER TABLESPOON!!!) Anyway...my rice was pretty much done in the first step b/c I had to run an errand in the middle of cooking...still not all of the liquid was absorbed. It was really hard to get the grape leaves out of the jar, I did rinse them as they were incredibly salty. Mine all stayed rolled up with no problem as I packed them in a single layer in a fairly shallow pan. I didn't use quite enough broth in the final simmer step so the tops of the leaves got a tad dried out. Update: I've made this several times now...I like to add 1/2 lb of browned ground lamb to rice after cooking the rice (this is still using half a recipe though). The wrapping goes better if I try to not cram so much inside! These are yummy even when they're cold! Wish I had a recipe for that lemony sauce that is sometimes served with these. When simmering them, I put a plate on top to help weigh things down. Yum-mo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I brought this to Greek Easter and they were the first thing to go. I even doubled the recipe! Every one loved them. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly and these were great. We made a 2nd batch and added 1 lb ground beef and 2 cloves of garlic. yum yum so good, really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This was the first time I ever tried to make grape leaves and they turned out great. I used ground turkey instead of beef to make it a little healthier. I loved the combination of flavors. I made them for my family and they all loved them. The only tricky part is keeping them from falling apart or opening when they are cooking. i would recommend this recipe to anyone. I think its better than a lot off grape leaves I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherbear

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I was terrified to try this, but they turned out wonderful!!! My husband is super-picky about foods like this (food-snob anyone?!), and he praised me up and down. My 11 yr old even had fun helping me roll the stuffing into the leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Made these for my Vegan cousin with vegetable broth of course and she LOVED them! Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Hanes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Very good recipe, except if you want more authentic flavor, you can add 2 tblsp. of pine nuts while sauteing the rice and onion, and also add add a teaspoon or more to taste of each of ground allspice and cinnamon with the chicken broth. We also add dried golden raisins-about a third of a cup-when we add the liquid and put the fresh herbs for last as they don't need to cook down with the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ipeksen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I MADE STUFED GRAPE LEAVES WITHOUT DILL OR MINT , WHEN I COOK IT I PUT HEAVY PLATE ON TOP TO PREVENT STUFFED LEAVES FROM OPENING , AND I PUT GARLIC PIECES IN BETWEEN LEAVES (ABOUT 2 CLOVES),
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I used the recipe to make these grape leaves for the first time. I used brown rice instead of white rice. I would just recommend to make sure to undercook your rice since the boiling makes it extra soft as it did mine. I also struggled with rolling them correctly from the directions and did not fully succeed. Even though I used a plate to hold them down when I picked them up at the end several opened up. However, the herbs and spices made them taste great and we ate them all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I followed this recipe very closely and the stuffed grape leaves weren't exactly like the ones from the greek restaurant, but they were pretty good. I'm going to try some other recipes, but I'll come back to this one if I can't find better. I might use water instead of chicken broth - it left a slight 'chicken and rice' kind of flavor in an otherwise exotic dish. Overall, though, easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States