My Own Famous Stuffed Grape Leaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
If using fresh grape leaves, you will need to select the young leaves (they take less time to cook and are already tender). Be sure to cut off any really tough stems. Otherwise, a jarred version is okay...but these leaves tend to be tougher than fresh ones. Also, try lining the bottom of the pan with slices of fresh or canned tomatoes; this will help reduce the sticking. A fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. For starters, the rice is awesome on its own! When I made the stuffed grape leaves I added a handful of toasted pine nuts, and that gave it a bit of extra lift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good EatNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
we used brown rice, a homemade mushroom broth, and dill seed instead bc that is what i had in the house. i didn't measure anything bc i was in a rush and it turned out fantastic. i can imagine that doing it "right" would be even better. yum yum yum and thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This is the secret to dolmades! Whisk the juice of 1-1/2 lemon and 2 egg yolks until combined. While whisking quickly, slowly add 1 cup liquid from dolmades to the lemon-egg yolk mixture. Whisk egg whites until frothy.Add frothed egg whites and combine. Pour mixture over warm dolmades and serve. This will make your dolmades perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This recipe is fantastic! I added a bit more lemon because I love lemon in everything, but other than that I didn't change a thing. Best recipe around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Splendid and delightful! I added lemon zest, parsley, salt and pepper. Cooked for 3o mins. So lovely! Thanks Patti!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I made this almost exactly as directed except that I halved it....and I further reduced the amount of olive oil for the simmering step to 1/4 cup. (Olive oil has 100-150 calories PER TABLESPOON!!!) Anyway...my rice was pretty much done in the first step b/c I had to run an errand in the middle of cooking...still not all of the liquid was absorbed. It was really hard to get the grape leaves out of the jar, I did rinse them as they were incredibly salty. Mine all stayed rolled up with no problem as I packed them in a single layer in a fairly shallow pan. I didn't use quite enough broth in the final simmer step so the tops of the leaves got a tad dried out. Update: I've made this several times now...I like to add 1/2 lb of browned ground lamb to rice after cooking the rice (this is still using half a recipe though). The wrapping goes better if I try to not cram so much inside! These are yummy even when they're cold! Wish I had a recipe for that lemony sauce that is sometimes served with these. When simmering them, I put a plate on top to help weigh things down. Yum-mo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I brought this to Greek Easter and they were the first thing to go. I even doubled the recipe! Every one loved them. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly and these were great. We made a 2nd batch and added 1 lb ground beef and 2 cloves of garlic. yum yum so good, really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This was the first time I ever tried to make grape leaves and they turned out great. I used ground turkey instead of beef to make it a little healthier. I loved the combination of flavors. I made them for my family and they all loved them. The only tricky part is keeping them from falling apart or opening when they are cooking. i would recommend this recipe to anyone. I think its better than a lot off grape leaves I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherbear

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States