My Own Famous Stuffed Grape Leaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Excellent. These are the ones you're looking for. If you don't like them, then you just don't like stuffed grape leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Im not sure about this one. Didnt taste like the greek place we love but these were still ok. I used brown rice since that is all we buy, so maybe that makes the difference. This made tons of filling. I bought one jar of leaves($4.99) and made these pretty big. I still had too much filling. Im not sure these were worth the money i spent in leaves. I will have to learn how to can my own grape leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gigerbopper
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I've been meaning to try to make dolma for years but I guess it was kind of intimidating! Turns out it's pretty simple - just time-consuming. I couldn't get my hands on fresh mint so I took a different route with garlic, cumin and allspice. These little guys are addictive and fun to show off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gigerbopper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
tasty but allot of effort. The grape leaves are no easy to find at the store, and the folding seems like it would take more practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimsonclovers

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Absolutely delicious! Just like my mom's - except I added some chopped carrots in the saute mixture to add some color and used plain water instead of chicken broth to make these delectable dolmas exactly like my mom's. One important thing I learned from my mom was that if you are using prepackaged grape leaves, they may be REALLY salty so you need to drain and rinse them really well, or soak them in warm water, to get rid of most of the salt, otherwise all you'll taste is the salt. And trust me, it would be a shame to ruin a recipe this good and your entire experience with stuffed grape leaves. Patti, thank you for sharing it. This is a huge keeper for me :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
egyptian
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I'm not sure what makes these famous, but at my dinner party the fame didn't last long. These were flavorless and not authentic according to my Greek guests. They were missing a greek lemon sauce, which I knew, but figured without meat, it might work. It didn't. They definitely lack a protein though and really need something like pine nuts or ground meat.. lamb, beef or a combo of both. Some guests thought they were OK, some left them on their plates. I've made lots of good Dolmathes in the past.. should have stuck with what works, but was looking for something lighter as a starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Excellent recipe. Very simple to make. My friend at a local middle-eastern bakery suggested that I cook the grape leaves with some sort of heavy object on top of them, to keep them from unwrapping, so I placed a porcelain plate on top, and it worked great! I also added a pinch of uncooked red lentils to each grape leaf that I wrapped, and that tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I saw a few reviews that mentioned using multiple grape leaves, instead of just one- bad idea! My advice is to roll them as tight as possible but only use a single leaf. If you have them tight in the pot, one or two holes/ breaks won't make a difference. Also they are better the longer they sit - make them at least a day ahead of serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Shocked I could make these and they taste just like the restaurants! I didn't make any adjustments to the recipe, just used much less olive oil. Maybe a 1/4 c. A little time consuming, but very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkathleenm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States