My Own Famous Stuffed Grape Leaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Work out well. Used dried dill added extra onion some garlic, dried basil, and black pepper very yummy. Used extra stuffing in trader joes s sweet n spicy red cherry peppers with assiago cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carl Paolucci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shifter
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
These are wonderful! The rice stuffing smelled amazing!!! What a great recipe. This was my first time making stuffed grape leaves and it was a fun and delicious experience following this recipe! I added a little olive oil when sautéing my onions and herbs, and forgot to add it at the end, but they still turned out! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I gave this recipe four stars for the flavor alone, because it balanced and savory. The mint is just perfect. I would have given five stars, but I have made this recipe a couple of times and had similar issues every time. One is that one cup of olive oil is gratuitous to a fault. I got by with two-thirds of a cup easily, and the flavor did not suffer. The second is that in order for these to reach the correct filling texture, and for the leaves to soften, these rolls must sit at least a day. The first day and for most of the second day, the filling is mushy and the leaves are chewey. Once they sit, however, they mellow, and they are indeed very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
\We love grape leaves but these were horrid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tina Schaible
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Thank you these were awesome. This was my first time making these. I wouldn't change nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Schaible

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe. It was very time consuming since it was my first time making it. I prefer to use fresh herbs such as mint, dill, and onions. Sautéing the dill, onion, and mint in olive oil released plenty of aroma and flavor. Dry herbs doesn't bring that out as much. Mixing dry rice with the ingredients spread evenly in the pot. I didn't have chicken broth, so I added 2 cubes of chicken bouillon into the rice after adding water. It smelled amazing while the ingredients were cooking. By the way, I used 1.5 cups of brown rice and two cups of water. I followed the instructions for the grape leaves by draining the majority of the grape leaves and rinsing it thoroughly then putting them in room temperature water for 10 minutes. After my rice was almost cooked, I added some lemon juice, then I let the rice cook completely. Wrapping the rice in grape leaves was a little challenging, though after a few tries, I finally got it. Finally, placing the stuffed leaves into a large pot, added lemon juice and olive oil and simmered with chicken broth. Since I noted earlier that I didn't have chicken broth, I boiled some water added 1 cube of chicken bouillon, poured the chicken broth over the stuffed grape leaves, but I only poured enough to cover the bottom of the pot allowing condensation do the job of cooking. This really prevented the rice from expanding out of the leaves. I let the stuffed grapes leaves cooled down, drizzled some olive oil and sprinkle some more lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Montenegro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This is the most authentic recipe I have ever tried. It actually tastes like I am back in Thessaloniki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
These were a good base for someone trying for the first time. My second try I made modifications used 1/2 pound ground lamb sauteed with (1) medium, 1 small clove garlic cook until meat starts to brown. add 1-1/2 uncooked rice with 2 cups water. cook on low until rice is not quite done and water is evaporated. cool slightly add your lemon, mint then stuff your leaves. I placed them in my electric pressure cooker with (2) cups water and pressure cooked 5 minutes. let pressure release naturally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This was the first time I have ever made grape leaves and they turned out great. This recipe yields a lot of them, so be sure to invite friends over, or plan on some yummy leftovers. I didn't know how to roll them, so I found a video somewhere else online. It wasn't too hard to get the hang of it. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States