My Navy Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
AWESOME. I prepped this ahead of time and left it for my girlfriend's mom to finish up the last 45 minutes of cooking. When I came home for dinner...MMMMMM. This soup rocks. (Btw, I used 4 cans of chicken broth rather than stock, and it came out great, like a chicken+bean kinda flavor going on. Great recipe!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
My mother used to make the best soup a long time ago. I searched for several recipes that could compare but there weren't any. til now, and i think it's better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
was wonderful , i added my own chicken stock and potatoes and left some of the orginal ingredients out but its wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
WONDERFUL...no other way to describe this soup. Changed margarine to butter and used only 1/4c instead of 1/2c. There were NO leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This is the easiest, tastiest navy bean soup I've made. The whole family devours it as soon as I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reesa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
The chicken broth just makes for a very flavorful soup. My husband and I really enjoyed eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This doesn't have to be such a long process - if you don't want to soak the beans overnight, instead boil for one hour. I did this and then cooked in my slowcooker on high for 3 1/2 hours - we still like them a bit firm w/ more broth, but another hour and it would be a good thick consistency a lot of folks like. Delicious flavor with a few cubes of chicken boullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This recipe is very easy and tastes great! I used ham instead of bacon and didn't use the carrots. My family doesn't like cooked carrots. I also added 2 Bay leaves. It was wonderful. My family loved it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
Served to a church crowd, they loved it. My only mods were to add (to a double batch) 6 larges cloves chopped garlic, and 2 tbs. of Emeril's Essence to the saute of onions and carrots. I used the stick blender just before serving to thicken it a bit. Really nice soup, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mackinaw City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Assonet, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
For something so simple, it's hard to believe how good this is! I was out of bacon one time, but the kids actually preferred the smooth consistancy the soup had without it. I used soft chicken boullion cubes to make the stock and Smart Balance original spread. I also puree the onions after cooking them so they disappear from picky kids' sight...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States