My Navy Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
My mother used to make the best soup a long time ago. I searched for several recipes that could compare but there weren't any. til now, and i think it's better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2001
I found this recipe to be very inexpensive to make. To reduce some of the fat I drained the bacon, and used olive oil to saute the onions and carrots. It's a pretty straight forward recipe, and my friends love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WallyPres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2001
I made this soup but substituted. I diced up left overs from a spiral Ham and added a few diced up potatos too. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2001
This was good. But I prefer a pure navy bean taste. The chicken broth overpowers the taste of the navy beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by das0421

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
AWESOME. I prepped this ahead of time and left it for my girlfriend's mom to finish up the last 45 minutes of cooking. When I came home for dinner...MMMMMM. This soup rocks. (Btw, I used 4 cans of chicken broth rather than stock, and it came out great, like a chicken+bean kinda flavor going on. Great recipe!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
Made it! No brainer instructions! GREAT taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Tripp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bennington, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
i made this and i used 4 cans of chicken broth and it had a great taste however..i like my beans thick and not like soup so i let it boil down abit...and it was so salty we could hardly choke it down..and i like salt..i will make this again but i will use low sodium chicken broth to see if that will help...thanks for sharing m
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil'MadSavy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
Good basic soup recipe. I ended up making mine in the crock pot so I did not soak the beans first. Also, mine ended up a little salty so I added a cubed potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
What a great soup on a cold winter night! I used my own stock from a roasted chicken I had made, cut back a little on the bacon and added leftover pieces of the fresh ham I had served for Christmas dinner. Made a great lunch for me the next day too. Thanks Patty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
I let this simmer all afternoon - used turkey bacon instead. A very simple, tasty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dewitt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States