My Navy Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
My mother used to make the best soup a long time ago. I searched for several recipes that could compare but there weren't any. til now, and i think it's better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2001
I found this recipe to be very inexpensive to make. To reduce some of the fat I drained the bacon, and used olive oil to saute the onions and carrots. It's a pretty straight forward recipe, and my friends love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WallyPres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2001
I made this soup but substituted. I diced up left overs from a spiral Ham and added a few diced up potatos too. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2001
This was good. But I prefer a pure navy bean taste. The chicken broth overpowers the taste of the navy beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by das0421

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
AWESOME. I prepped this ahead of time and left it for my girlfriend's mom to finish up the last 45 minutes of cooking. When I came home for dinner...MMMMMM. This soup rocks. (Btw, I used 4 cans of chicken broth rather than stock, and it came out great, like a chicken+bean kinda flavor going on. Great recipe!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
Made it! No brainer instructions! GREAT taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Tripp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bennington, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
i made this and i used 4 cans of chicken broth and it had a great taste however..i like my beans thick and not like soup so i let it boil down abit...and it was so salty we could hardly choke it down..and i like salt..i will make this again but i will use low sodium chicken broth to see if that will help...thanks for sharing m
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil'MadSavy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
Good basic soup recipe. I ended up making mine in the crock pot so I did not soak the beans first. Also, mine ended up a little salty so I added a cubed potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
What a great soup on a cold winter night! I used my own stock from a roasted chicken I had made, cut back a little on the bacon and added leftover pieces of the fresh ham I had served for Christmas dinner. Made a great lunch for me the next day too. Thanks Patty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
I let this simmer all afternoon - used turkey bacon instead. A very simple, tasty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dewitt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States