My Navy Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
was wonderful , i added my own chicken stock and potatoes and left some of the orginal ingredients out but its wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
For something so simple, it's hard to believe how good this is! I was out of bacon one time, but the kids actually preferred the smooth consistancy the soup had without it. I used soft chicken boullion cubes to make the stock and Smart Balance original spread. I also puree the onions after cooking them so they disappear from picky kids' sight...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I made mine in a crockpot and it seemed that 7 cups of chicken stock was a little too much. I used a quart and it turned out to be really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ProjectMatthew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
Served to a church crowd, they loved it. My only mods were to add (to a double batch) 6 larges cloves chopped garlic, and 2 tbs. of Emeril's Essence to the saute of onions and carrots. I used the stick blender just before serving to thicken it a bit. Really nice soup, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mackinaw City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Assonet, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
THE BEANS NEED TO SOAK LONGER THAN THREE HOURS. I WOULD SUGGEST AT LEAST 5 OR 6 HOURS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This recipe is very easy and tastes great! I used ham instead of bacon and didn't use the carrots. My family doesn't like cooked carrots. I also added 2 Bay leaves. It was wonderful. My family loved it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This is the easiest, tastiest navy bean soup I've made. The whole family devours it as soon as I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reesa Moorman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
WONDERFUL...no other way to describe this soup. Changed margarine to butter and used only 1/4c instead of 1/2c. There were NO leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
This soup didn't have enough flavor for my family. We added hot sauce. I think next time I would add a ham hock to the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
The chicken broth just makes for a very flavorful soup. My husband and I really enjoyed eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States