My Navy Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Awesome! I doubled the recipe so there would be leftovers....it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Studio3101

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This is perfect bean soup. Absolutely Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Byrd Crawford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Delicious! Although I cooked it for about 3 hours and added more water when it would thicken. I've made it twice in the past week and got many compliments!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lannysmomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This doesn't have to be such a long process - if you don't want to soak the beans overnight, instead boil for one hour. I did this and then cooked in my slowcooker on high for 3 1/2 hours - we still like them a bit firm w/ more broth, but another hour and it would be a good thick consistency a lot of folks like. Delicious flavor with a few cubes of chicken boullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I made this tonight with few changes. I cut it in half and used Swanson reduced sodium broth instead of stock. I also added water to it, to cut the saltiness. I used extra carrots and onion, and toward the end used a potato masher to thicken it up. I served with warm cornbread and my boys ate it all up. It was awesome! A great recipe to tweak to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizabeth23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
We've never had Navy Bean soup before and the WHOLE family loved it. I used maple breakfast sausage instead of the bacon, added potatoes/thyme/marjoram as others suggested and used homemade broth. We found it wasn't salty enough but I'm sure that's b/c our broth was not processed/canned. Just a splash of Tobasco took it right off the charts. THANKS for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
After adding the carrots and onions, I transferred everything to the crock pot. Since my kids don't like the flavor of bacon, I substituted turkey ham for the bacon. I also added 1 tsp. of marjoram and 1 tsp. of thyme for some additional flavor. I cooked the soup on low in the crock pot for 4 hours more. It was fantastic! It was even better the next day after the flavors had more time to blend together. This was posibly the tastiest soup I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
this is a really good place to start. I threw everything in the slow cooker on high for 4 hours. I added some chopped celery, celery salt and black pepper. Served it with cornbread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krispy6372

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Kind of tasteless. Addind salt and pepper helped. Our small kids liked it though, and it's hard to serve a bean soup they'll eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Very tasty and filling soup, a litle salty but I should have used reduced sodium broth as another reviewer suggested, otherwise this soup is a great find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koolaidemomstaci

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States