My Navy Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This is just a great simple recipe that can provide you with a good base to experiment with. I made some minor changes... I used 4 cups chicken stock (low sodium-fat free version), dropped the carrots, and switched the bacon for about 3/4 lb ham steak cut up and threw in the bone with it. Add some cornbread and you have a great chilly day meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Really good. Used turkey bacon for less fat. Next time I may add some corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
The butter in this was excessive. I skimmed off quite a bit then wound up with a great soup. Next time, I will only use a couple of tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This was amazing!!! My first time making a bean soup. I barely changed the recipe. I didn't have bacon, so I put in a 1/4 C. real bacon bits. And I used salted butter to saute, but only 1/4 C. Oh and this was key, I separately simmered about 1 C. beans in the stock, and when the beans were ready, I blended the beans and added it back to the large pot, it made the soup creamier. LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomahawk, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Perfect! My husband and I both gave this a 10. I used precooked ham chunks instead of bacon and added 1/4 teaspoon pepper. Oh...and I only used 1/4 cup or so of margarine as others suggested. I fast cooked the beans then followed the recipe. After I brought the soup to a boil I transferred to the crock pot for 3 1/2 hours (started on high and turned to low once the beans were the texture I wanted). Thanks for this recipe! Loved this and I am not even a fan of bean soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I really liked this soup, but next time I make it I will sub ham for bacon. I don't like soggy bacon, it just wasn't good in this and I found myself avoiding it while eating. Also, you don't need a whole stick of margarine, I used about 3 tablespoons and a generous pouring of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
An affordable soup, good and tasty too. I don't love the bacon, but I don't hate it either. I used smoked bacon and I think it was a little overpowering. I didnt have any fresh carrots, but picked out all the carrots from an entire bag of frozen peas and carrrots. Hey, it worked! Didn't have an onion either, but had some dried minced onion in the cupboard, that worked too. Used only 2 tablespoons of butter, and thought everything tasted quite good. Just the smoky bacon I used was rough. I'll gladlly make again, but definitely without all the butter -- just doesnt need it. (used low sodium broth, and was happy with it)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Great flavor, I did however make a few changes, I soaked the beans over night, I then cut up 3 celery stocks and put in a saute pan with butter and added it to the soup along with the onion and carrots that I had just sauted up, I also had a nice ham bone that had some meat on it, and I used that to impart a nice flavor, I also cooked it a good many hours, my Husband said its the best navy bean I have made yet...Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETYBIRD09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Good taste, I added ham but otherwise followed the recipe and the beans needed to soak longer, 4 hours wasn't sufficiant, I will try 6 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Awesome! I doubled the recipe so there would be leftovers....it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Studio3101

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States