My Mother-in-Law's Plum Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jkamom
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I get requests for this cake-bread all the time! I used vanilla yogurt and will try with crushed pecans or walnuts on top next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This bread is incredible! I added 3/4 tsp almond essence to the batter and an extra 1/2 cup of plums. I sprinkled sliced almonds and about 1 Tbsp brown sugar over the top, instead of the 1/4 cup brown sugar. For the first 1/2 of the baking time, I covered the pan with foil so the almonds wouldn't burn. I make a lot of quickbreads, but this may be the best I've ever made!! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
MAN, is this good!!!! I had a can of plums to use up, so I found this recipe. I was afraid that using canned instead of fresh would make it too mushy, but it was perfect! I didn't toss the plums in flour, obviously, and I didn't assemble everything as the recipe says, but didn't change anything else. I mixed the flour and sugar in one bowl and whipped all the other ingredients in another bowl with a whisk. Added the wet to the dry, then gently stirred in the plums. Oh, and I added about 1/3 cup chopped pecans. This is SO good fresh out of the oven slathered in butter!! As one reviewer already noted, it really sticks to the pan. Be sure to grease and flour the pan, especially the bottom. Mine was a mess to get out, but I wasn't serving it to company so it didn't matter. It didn't sit around for very long anyway because it was so delicious. Looking forward to trying it with peaches. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCwriter

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I was going to do my own thing making plum bread for the first time, but when I found this recipe was compelled to use it. As so many other reviewers have done, I modified based in ingredients on hand which goes to show that the foundation recipe is fantastic. When sharing the finished product with neighbors and friends, I called it breakfast cake as it is pretty sweet and rich! I have tons of plums and will be making more this week. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReadMyLips26
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Delicious! I mad this with fresh plums off of a friends tree and it was so good. All I had on hand was some peach yogurt and used it in place of plain. Great taste. My plums were a bit too juicy and part of the dough came out gooey, but cooked. The texture was very cake like but not at all too sweet like cake. I love it. I might us less plums next time to see how it comes out. Perfect with coffee and friends :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReadMyLips26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This was really good! I also used sour cream because I didn't have yogurt and I had canned some plums last year and used a pint of them....Wonderful recipe, I know what I will be doing with the rest of my canned plums. Thanks for Sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Omg... It is so good! I made 4 loafs except I used sour cream instead of yogurt and added walnuts. It took about 10 min. Longer but it is so good and I used yellow plums. I froze the other 3 loaves. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susanl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
My plum tree runneth over so I am delighted to have found this recipe earlier this week. I am going to make it again today, once again I am tripling the recipe to give as gifts and stock my freezer. It is a delightful sweet and sour (plum skins) cake. I served it at a barbeque for dessert spread with plum sauce and topped with whipped cream. Everyone raved about it. I am taking to heart the review that it freezes well and plan on giving a loaf of bread/cake with a jar of either plum jam or sauce. Oh, I used 1/2 brown sugar 1/2 white in cake and cut back on brown sugar topping. Delishious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
This is a hit at home and work - for both my husband and I. I use more plums and never measure the brown sugar for the top! I get requests to make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Wow yummy! I used 1 cup of brown sugar in total for the recipe since that was all the sugar I had in the house. It turned out amazing. What a great way to use up prunes from the farmer's market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Pomona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States