My Mother-in-Law's Plum Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
This was a great recipe. I used it twice to use up an abundance of plums from my parent's trees. I didn't have yogurt to I used sour cream. Otherwise I followed the recipe as written. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Great! Made some changes. I don't like trans fats, so I used butter, and used some sweet cherries in addition to plums, for a total of 1 1/2 cups fruit. Also I used almond extract instead of vanilla, reduced the sugar a little, added cinnamon, and finally added some oats, almonds and butter to the brown sugar to make a streudel topping of sorts. As indicated in other reviews, with the extra fruit it took an additional 10 minutes of baking time. Awesome way to use up the plums from my tree! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaMG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I made this with fresh plums someone gave me (I was wondering what to do with them all and came across this recipe). It was absolutely delicious - I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pompton Lakes, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I have made several batches of bread using this recipe. My first batch was way too sweet for me and my family. It was a struggle to finish two loaves of bread that I made. For the second batch, I ended up cutting the white sugar by half and did not use any brown sugar. I also doubled the plums. The result was amazing! For my third batch, I substituted the yogurt with milk and the taste is still the same. This recipe also works great for apple bread. I just add cinnamon to it and off course I deducted the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladyligeia1838
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Really exceptional! The texture is phenomenal: light, fluffy, almost angel food-like. I used I Can't Believe It's Not Butter and it worked out wonderfully. It also didn't turn out very tart despite the plums which gave it a lovely moist texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I LOVED this recipe! I had some plums left over from our tree, and this was such a perfect way to use them. I used vanilla yogurt instead of plain, which was completely delicious. I also used butter instead of margarine. And I had to bake it 65-70 minutes. I just made another loaf today, since the first loaf is long gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This is a great recipe. I used 2 cups of chopped Italian plums from my tree, used butter and sour cream since that's all I had. Other than those ingredient changes, everything else was as followed. I lined the loaf pan with parchment paper and it came out beautiful. I did have to cook it 10 minutes longer. The toothpick came out clean but when I went to slice into it 15 minutes later, it was still a bit under cooked on the bottom. But it wasn't raw, just a little wet. Probably could of used another 5-10 minutes longer, checking every 5 minutes. The bread did fall during cooling so don't except a fluffy bread. It's dense and pretty sweet. Great way to use up my plums before they spoil. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This was really great! I made the recipe exactly except I used sour cream instead of yogurt (as that's what I had on hand). I did find it took about 15 minutes longer to bake - about 65 minutes. I also floured the pan as well as greasing and the loaf turned out no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
So yummy with tart red plums!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
It is delicious! I keep peaches and plums cut up and ready to go in the freezer! Either fruit works great in the recipe! We are blessed to have a friend who grows both! Lois Keefer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States