My Mother-in-Law's Cheese Sauce...ssshh Don't Tell Her Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I served this sauce over broccoli and my kids loved it! The sauce does take a while to thicken--be sure to add the cornstarch & water mixture before the cheese and then let it GENTLY boil until it gets to the consistency you like before you add the cheese. It may also help to halve the recipe. Since it was just for the kids, I cut the recipe down to two servings (which was plenty), and had no problem with thickening. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This is just what I was looking for to put over brocolli. I had trouble with it not thickening enough so I added more cornstarch, probably another 1 or 2 T. mixed with the same amount of water. I used two 8oz. packages of shredded cheddar cheese instead. I seasoned with a dash of worchestershire and salt and pepper. This tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Seemed that there was way too much milk called for in this recipe. After 25 minutes of stirring with the cornstarch in, the sauce never thickened and after adding the cheese, still didn't get very thick at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wildwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I should have taken other reviewer's advice and cut the recipe in half, but since I used only 3 c. of fat-free half & half I thought I would be okay. I reduced the liquid to three c. since others had trouble thickening their sauce. Mine, though it took a little while, got to a nice thickness. I also increased the onion to 1 1/2 tsp., sauteed it in the butter and then lightly toasted the garlic before adding the half & half. At that point, I added about 1/4 tsp. mustard powder (will probably double it next time) and, like stylingmom, added a little worstershire (about 1 tsp). I used about 16 oz. grated sharp cheddar as I didn't have American and the flavor was good but a bit grainy. I'll use American next time and see what the result is. All in all a great recipe but I highly recommend making 1/2 a batch unless your feeding a crowd. Thanks for the recipe, ALISSMOM, and your mother-in-law as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Excellent! Can be made w/cheddar too, turns out nice & smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Fantastic! I made this to go over broccoli for dinner last night. I cut it down to 2 servings and there was plenty. Even drizzled a little on the rice as well. My kids asked for seconds! I guess next time I will have to make 2 bags of frozen broccoli so they can have thirds. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Partlow, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Gourmet this is not but my 3 kids said it was the best cheese sauce they ever tasted and were licking their plates. Sometimes it's nice to not hear any complaints at dinner and this did the trick. Thanks. (BTW, used velveeta and halved the recipe, served over noodles, steamed broccoli & cauliflower.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
This was a good recipe in a "pinch", but not a true creamy cheese sauce. That said you can't expect "great" when the recipe call's for 16 american cheese slice's, right? I also found the amount to be way too much, 1/2 the recipe would do. This is the perfect recipe for beginner's in the kitchen and for those dinner's put together in a "pinch". But I will do a little further searching at All Recipe.com for that perfect creamy melt in your mouth cheese sauce-because this one wasn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Very nice. As written it is a little thin. I cut the recipe almost in half. (I don't usually use exact measurements.) I did measure out the cornstarch and water recommended and ended up needing a little more. I did like this and will use it again. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Excellent. Nice cheesy taste and very smooth texture. Thanks aliismom's mother-in-law :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States