My Mother-in-Law's Cheese Sauce...ssshh Don't Tell Her Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Excellent. Nice cheesy taste and very smooth texture. Thanks aliismom's mother-in-law :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Excellent! Can be made w/cheddar too, turns out nice & smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Seemed that there was way too much milk called for in this recipe. After 25 minutes of stirring with the cornstarch in, the sauce never thickened and after adding the cheese, still didn't get very thick at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wildwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This is just what I was looking for to put over brocolli. I had trouble with it not thickening enough so I added more cornstarch, probably another 1 or 2 T. mixed with the same amount of water. I used two 8oz. packages of shredded cheddar cheese instead. I seasoned with a dash of worchestershire and salt and pepper. This tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Very nice. As written it is a little thin. I cut the recipe almost in half. (I don't usually use exact measurements.) I did measure out the cornstarch and water recommended and ended up needing a little more. I did like this and will use it again. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Fantastic! I made this to go over broccoli for dinner last night. I cut it down to 2 servings and there was plenty. Even drizzled a little on the rice as well. My kids asked for seconds! I guess next time I will have to make 2 bags of frozen broccoli so they can have thirds. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Partlow, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I love this sauce! I changed the recipe a bit.I used 4 TBS flour. I used onion& garlic powder. After blending as good as I could, I put the sauce in the blender. Next I will make pimento cheese with this sauce. Thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
I used cheese spread instead of cheese slices, and it worked really well. I then added it to some steak strips(that had already been cooked with spices) and it tasted great, was looking forever for a easy cheese sauce that could go with steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
I made this recipe adjusted for two servings. It had a nice flavour but would not thicken even after extra cornstarch. I think next time I would reduce the amount of milk by at least 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I served this sauce over broccoli and my kids loved it! The sauce does take a while to thicken--be sure to add the cornstarch & water mixture before the cheese and then let it GENTLY boil until it gets to the consistency you like before you add the cheese. It may also help to halve the recipe. Since it was just for the kids, I cut the recipe down to two servings (which was plenty), and had no problem with thickening. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States