My Mother-in-Law's Cheese Sauce...ssshh Don't Tell Her Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Tasty, but calls for too much milk. It's wasteful and time-consuming to let it boil down...otherwise the sauce would be much too thin, IMO. I may make it again and halve the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Great recipe...used cheddar instead, but man was it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hahira, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This cheese sauce was such a pleasant surprise! I followed the recipe exactly with exception to the cheese. I am currently living in the middle east and do not have access to processed cheese (or cheddar of any kind) which was called for in the recipe but substituted it with about 3 tbsp of powdered cheddar cheese mix (that I brought with me from home). This was honestly divine - rich and creamy, delicious. It's the garlic and onion that set this sauce apart from the rest. Only a small amount is needed to make the difference, too much and it would overpower it. I served it over broccoli and my husband absolutely loved it. The next day I used the leftovers as a nacho dip... yum! I will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat_1970

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I used a mix of cheddar and monterey jack for this. It was the easiest cheese sauce I have made. The milk did take a very long time to reduce. I split the recipe in half and will have enough left over to smother some veggies tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Was very suprised at the flavor! And very easy to make. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Wilkerson Harmon
Living In: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This was a great tasting cheese sauce, but I had to doctor it up. I only used 2 cups of milk and 16 oz. velveeta cheese, and it was very soupy. So I add lots of cheddar chesse. Everyone really liked it. I will be adding this to my recipe book. This recipe has a lot of potential . You could adjust the receipt to make a spicy cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cordova, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I USED FLOUR INSTEAD OF CORN STARCH.IT IS GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This sauce was delicious! It didn't require too much effort to obtain great results, and it is very easy to thin out with water if you let it thicken too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashleigh Gunter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
The flavor on this was actually pretty good, but the consistency of the recipe as written was way too watery. It took a LONG time to thicken and only after what can only be described as a "flour frenzy" took place as we were trying to get it on the table for Christmas dinner. Needless to say, we added too much and while it was great on the table it did form quite a thick paste after sitting. Could be user error, but I'll pass on this one next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
this is realllllly good with deep fried veggies! i just added a lil flour to thicken it up. It was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States