My Mother-in-Law's Cheese Sauce...ssshh Don't Tell Her Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Good recipe. After reading others reviews I cut the milk back to one cup and still had to use 3 tbs of starch and 3 tbs of water. I also used a little less cheese. After those few changes this made a great cheese sauce. I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I served this with veggies and everyone loved it. Be prepared...this recipe makes a lot. I will probably decrease the amounts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I had to add a bit more thickener, but it was quite delicious. I've made this several times and my kids love it over broccoli and potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
too runny. and i whisked forever and ever i had to increase the corn starch. tasted good though will make adjustments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angieg77

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Good suggestion with the corn starch. I used several types of cheese that I had on hand. The kids are gobbling up the mixed veggies they usually refuse! Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOUDNOYES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Great over broccoli and perogies. I halved the recipe for myself, my husband and daughter. We still only used about half of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOSHKARENWOLFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I was looking for a cheese sauce recipe because it's the only way my husband will eat broccoli but it's my children's favorite veggie (go figure!). I came across this one and was quite pleased with the result - although I did modify a bit. First, I used 8 oz of cheddar cheese because we don't typically have processed cheese in the house. I also used flour instead of cornstarch because I didn't have any left - in doing this I used a lot more water, probably about 6-1 but I didn't measure :); and I added about a teaspoon of salt. The sauce was rich, creamy , cheesy and delicious over the broccoli and the roasted potatoes I had made too! My children wouldn't poor the sauce on their precious broccoli, but they did dip some bread in it and both said it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Excellent cheese sauce, but I had to modify it a little bit for it to work. I cut the recipe in half, otherwise it would have been way too much for me. I had to add about 1 tbsp. more of corn starch for it to thicken, and I used a little bit more water to mix the corn starch with. It also should be put in the directions that it should be GENTLY boiled. Milk burns easily and can leave a gross looking solid floating in the liquid so make sure to constantly stir the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Very simple and very good. I used Velveeta instead of American cheese slices (AmCh slices vary a lot in content and moisture and are not reliable in recipes). I found it to be tasty and a good consistency. And folks, if you think it's not thick enough for you.....add more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B. Bailey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
oh, don't use chedder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: West Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States