My Mom's Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I followed a reviewers suggestion and used some beef broth so it would have enough moisture to cook. Turns out that was way too much. Next time I think I will only use a quarter cup. I do love the taste I must say. It's been more than 20 years since I've had Swiss steak and this is a great recipe to follow. Also, I had some boxed "potatoes al gratin" that needed to be cooked so that was the side. Hope Mike likes this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Simple meal! Definitely agree it needs major flavor! We added lots of garlic and salt to get it with some decent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I'd like to try this recipe but hubby isn't allowed tomatoes. Has anyone tried it with mushroom soup and onions as a base?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I made this for hubby and kids this wknd. I started with the recipe as written. Even after adding countless spices and a can of Chiles it was so bland I ended up scraping off the tomato mixture and making home made gravy to salvage the leftovers. I'll not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Great basic recipe. Just like my mother made. Remembering that mom's recipe was plain, I followed suggestions from other reviews. Used what I had,Italian style diced tomatoes (Hunts), canned mushrooms, 1\2 c beef broth and Italian seasoning. Simmered for 70 minutes. Served over brown rice. Husband loved it! Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
We had this for dinner tonight. It came out just great! Like a lot of the other reviewers, I dredged the meat in flour first, added seasonings and fresh garlic. I also doubled the recipe and added one cup of beef broth. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Sauce was very tasty but the meat was not very flavorful even after following many of the tips from other reviewers. I seasoned the meat before flouring and browning, added lots of garlic, other seasonings before cooking and it was disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Used beef broth instead of water, added some minced garlic, and browned the steak (in flour and spices) first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Since canned diced tomatoes have no flavor, IMO, I replaced them with two cups crushed San Marzano tomatoes. I also omitted the oregano since I didn't want an "Italian" taste (that's not traditional for Swiss Steak). I added about a tablespoon of Worcestershire to the sauce while it cooked instead. Had no celery on hand so I seasoned the steaks well with celery salt and black pepper before browning them, as well as adding a bit of salt and pepper to taste while this cooked. Turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
The good? The steaks got very tender, fork tender, in fact. The sauce and vegetables were really good too. The "meh", however, was that the steaks were quite flavorless. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I lightly floured the steaks before browning them, after a light application of salt and pepper. My husband was underwhelmed, sad to say, and so was I, after such a long cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PattyP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States