My Mom's Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I made this just as directed, and it was wonderful. I did not have mushrooms, so I used extra celery. I served it over mashed potatoes. I like that it does not call for flour, because I have a family member who cannot eat gluten, so this was something we could all eat. I will make it again just this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Awesome. I used elk steaks instead of beef and it was amazing. Everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joshua Lovejoy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coremega357
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This recipe was great for a easy week night meal. I only changed a few things, I like others used beef broth in place of the water and also used diced tomato with basil garlic and oregano added so I did not add oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I made this recipe tonight for dinner. SO glad I did. I substituted a few things. I used cube steaks (which I had on hand) and added two cans of Italian stewed tomatoes and one small can of tomato sauce. I omitted the mushrooms because my husband is not a fan of them. Served it over mashed potatoes with a nice green salad. Delicious and will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
bread the meat first and thicken with extra flour and add garlic and deglaze with sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by steve
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Turned out great, added some peppers, onions, and some peppercorn and olive oil tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Tom likes it. Left over sauce can be used for Chicken Spaghetti.... or to cook chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I followed a reviewers suggestion and used some beef broth so it would have enough moisture to cook. Turns out that was way too much. Next time I think I will only use a quarter cup. I do love the taste I must say. It's been more than 20 years since I've had Swiss steak and this is a great recipe to follow. Also, I had some boxed "potatoes al gratin" that needed to be cooked so that was the side. Hope Mike likes this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Simple meal! Definitely agree it needs major flavor! We added lots of garlic and salt to get it with some decent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I'd like to try this recipe but hubby isn't allowed tomatoes. Has anyone tried it with mushroom soup and onions as a base?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States