My Mom's Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I'd like to try this recipe but hubby isn't allowed tomatoes. Has anyone tried it with mushroom soup and onions as a base?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I made this for hubby and kids this wknd. I started with the recipe as written. Even after adding countless spices and a can of Chiles it was so bland I ended up scraping off the tomato mixture and making home made gravy to salvage the leftovers. I'll not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Great basic recipe. Just like my mother made. Remembering that mom's recipe was plain, I followed suggestions from other reviews. Used what I had,Italian style diced tomatoes (Hunts), canned mushrooms, 1\2 c beef broth and Italian seasoning. Simmered for 70 minutes. Served over brown rice. Husband loved it! Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
We had this for dinner tonight. It came out just great! Like a lot of the other reviewers, I dredged the meat in flour first, added seasonings and fresh garlic. I also doubled the recipe and added one cup of beef broth. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Sauce was very tasty but the meat was not very flavorful even after following many of the tips from other reviewers. I seasoned the meat before flouring and browning, added lots of garlic, other seasonings before cooking and it was disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Used beef broth instead of water, added some minced garlic, and browned the steak (in flour and spices) first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Since canned diced tomatoes have no flavor, IMO, I replaced them with two cups crushed San Marzano tomatoes. I also omitted the oregano since I didn't want an "Italian" taste (that's not traditional for Swiss Steak). I added about a tablespoon of Worcestershire to the sauce while it cooked instead. Had no celery on hand so I seasoned the steaks well with celery salt and black pepper before browning them, as well as adding a bit of salt and pepper to taste while this cooked. Turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
The good? The steaks got very tender, fork tender, in fact. The sauce and vegetables were really good too. The "meh", however, was that the steaks were quite flavorless. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I lightly floured the steaks before browning them, after a light application of salt and pepper. My husband was underwhelmed, sad to say, and so was I, after such a long cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PattyP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Very very good! I do the same recipe with a pot roast and it is always tender. I add a tablespoon of sugar and white vinegar to the mix and serve with piping hot mashed potatoes. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Wonderful oldfashioned Swiss Steak!! Gave it 4 stars because I did add a can of beef broth, browned the floured steak in EVO,in my Dutch oven, then added everything else and baked at 275 for about 3 hours--perfect!!! Did not have to thicken further. Served over mashed potatoes, and then made the whole thing into a Shepherd's Pie for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States