My Mom's Sausage and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This is a simple and well balanced dish. My family relly enjoys it. It freezes well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
Excellent. Added an extra package of the dry chix noodle soup mix. Very good and there were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
I'am delighted to find this recipe. I had it 25yrs ago, but misplaced it. I tried it again last night & its better than ever..Truly, A Southern Delight!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
I just finished making this recipe and it was very good. I did not have any celery and I used 4 cup-a-soup packets, (I did not have the regular size). I also was short on time so I just sauteed the sausage, bell pepper, onion, and almonds on top of the stove. I cooked them until they were good and done and the moisture had evaporated. I drained off the fat, added the rice, soup mix and the water, covered the pot and simmered about 40 minutes. I stirred it every now and then and near the end I just let it sit so the bottom got nice and brown (I used a teflon pot). I don't see why I can't just use chicken flavored Rice-a-Roni next time instead of the soup mix and rice. It was a very flavorful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
very good. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
This recipe surprised me it was better than I thought it would be, and everyone else liked it also. The only thing I would do different next time is add some extra broth and a full cup of rice. I would also mix some almonds in addition to the topping and maybe try a spicier sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
this was okay, was lacking something probaby won't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martyne todd

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
I have this recipe but its called St Paul's Rice and its an excellent dish to bring to potlucks. I use 2 packs of the dry soup mix for more flavor and bake in a 9 by 13 pan covered with foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I made a short cut to this recipe because I did not have the 2 hrs for baking that it called for. I cooked the rice in the rice cooker, then put the rice in my pan of sausage, noodle mix,etc, mixed it all up, and poured it into a casserole dish and baked for 1 hour. The casserole turned out nice and moist, but, rather tasteless...at least for OUR Cajun mouths. My family asked me specifically NEVER to cook this again. LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This was really good although like another reviewer I think adding chicken flavored rice a roni would give the same effect. Any sausage would work well in this dish. I also found the cooking temperature was a little high so I did a 350 oven and only cooked for an hour which was plenty of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States