My Mom's Sausage & Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
My kids (12 & 15) loved this recipe. I made a big mistake, though, I foolishly didn't drain the sausage afer browning--consequently the finished product came out very, very greasy. Also, I didn't cook the sausage for only 5 mins--it was still very pink--which scares me w/pork--I cooked it until it was completely brown. I will definited make this agin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
I have made a very similar recipe for years and handed out the recipe countless times ..my variation doesn't take as much time and will be less salty/less fat as it doubles the recipe and still uses only 1 pound of sausage..I use it as a side dish instead of a main dish.My variation follows: Cook 1 pound of sausage(I like JImmy Dean Sage) in large skillet with chopped onion,bell pepper and celery until sausage is brown..drain off fat. Meanwhile, bring 4 1/2 cups of water to a boil, add 1 cup regular (not minute) rice and 2 packages Liptons Chicken Noodle with white meat soup mix...simmer for 20 minutes. Mix all together, add a jar of chopped mushrooms if desired..its ready to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
We loved this! Unfortunately, it barely made enough for all of use so next time, I will have to double the recipe. I did add some fresh sliced mushrooms and a little more celery. I don't think it really matters what kind of sausage you use...as long as you know you like it. Will make this again and again. Very EASY recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
would make this again - next time i would go ahead and continue to cook everything right in my deep frying pan (for about an hour) - cut down lots of time... just make sure you fry the sausage good enough ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
Although this recipe takes a long time to cook....the prep time is fairly short. It is a wonderful recipe ....my family loved the taste and went back for seconds. One hint though...spray the casserole dish with non stick spray to avoid all the noodles and rice sticking. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
I made this for Christmas dinner, and prepared it the day before so I wouldn't be stuck in the kitchen all day! Aside from chopping and cooking the sausage, it is such a simple recipe! It was delicious, everyone wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
This recipe is easily converted to make it very quick to prepare, I use 1-2 tbs dry minced onion, substitute sliced waterchestnuts for the celery, add a small drained can of sliced mushrooms and eliminated the green peppers. The first time I made this it stuck to the pan so I greased the pan with shortening and used the browned sausage as the bottom layer, no more sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
very easy to make and came out really delicious. we ate every bit of it and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
I will make this recipe again because it is an excellent combination of flavours. However, it is way too salty. Hopefully there is a low sodium soup mix I can try. I used mild Italian sausage, and red bell pepper instead of green. I left out the nuts - didn't have any. Didn't need them. It smelled really good while cooking, and looked wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I have made this recipe multiple times and finally felt guilty that I hadn't written a review. I prefer it with country flavored pork sausage, more than say Italian sweet sausage...though the green peppers shine when using Italian sweet. I feel the original recipe is wonderful, but when I use the country pork sausage. I replace the green peppers with green beans (as I am not a big pepper fan) and add Herbs de Provence seasoning. It is perfect served with a goat cheese and beet salad as well as a loaf of crusty bread. Thanks Corrie for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States